Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Uneasy Lies the Crown

Uneasy Lies the Crown

A Lady Emily Mystery

Lady Emily Mysteries (Volume 13)

Tasha Alexander

Minotaur Books


In Uneasy Lies the Crown, the thrilling new mystery in Tasha Alexander's bestselling series, Lady Emily and her husband Colin must stop a serial killer whose sights may be set on the new king, Edward VII.

On her deathbed, Queen Victoria asks to speak privately with trusted agent of the Crown, Colin Hargreaves, and slips him a letter with one last command: Une sanz pluis. Sapere aude. “One and no more. Dare to know.”

The year is 1901 and the death of Britain’s longest-reigning monarch has sent the entire British Empire into mourning. But for Lady Emily and her dashing husband, Colin, the grieving is cut short as another death takes center stage. A body has been found in the Tower of London, posed to look like the murdered medieval king Henry VI. When a second dead man turns up in London's exclusive Berkeley Square, his mutilated remains staged to evoke the violent demise of Edward II, it becomes evident that the mastermind behind the crimes plans to strike again.

The race to find the killer takes Emily deep into the capital’s underbelly, teeming with secret gangs, street children, and sleazy brothels—but the clues aren’t adding up. Even more puzzling are the anonymous letters Colin has been receiving since Victoria's death, seeming to threaten her successor, Edward VII. With the killer leaving a trail of dead kings in his wake, will Edward be the next victim?

17 January 1901

Osborne House, Isle of Wight

The stench of death already clung to the salmon pink walls of Queen Victoria’s bedroom; it assaulted Colin Hargreaves the moment the footman opened the massive oak doors....

Praise for Uneasy Lies the Crown

Praise for Uneasy Lies the Crown:

“Engrossing…English history lovers will be enthralled.”—Publishers Weekly

“Readers are in the author’s trustworthy hands, and the working out of the puzzle will delight
mystery and history buffs alike.” —Booklist

Praise for Death in St. Petersburg:

“The breathtaking beauty of St. Petersburg before the Russian Revolution provides a dazzling backdrop for murder.”—Kirkus Reviews

"Alexander is at the top her game...(her) impeccable research and smart storytelling keep readers on the edge of their seats...A gripping tale by a grand mistress of the genre."—RT Book Reviews (Top Pick)

“Alexander delivers a memorable portrait of a fairy-tale city dancing on the brink of revolution.”Publisher's Weekly

Praise for the Lady Emily Mysteries:

“Consistently witty, smart, and entertaining.”—Booklist

“Tasha Alexander has created Victorian London's most colorful and delightfully eccentric sleuth.” —Jacqueline Winspear, New York Times bestselling author of the Maisie Dobbs Series


Reviews from Goodreads

Tasha Alexander

TASHA ALEXANDER, the daughter of two philosophy professors, studied English Literature and Medieval History at the University of Notre Dame. She and her husband, novelist Andrew Grant, live on a ranch in southeastern Wyoming. She is the author of the bestselling Lady Emily series, including Death in St. Petersburg and The Counterfeit Heiress.

Prequel Story to Tears of Pearl


    Latest on Facebook


    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook