Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Critical Point

Critical Point

Cas Russell (Volume 3)

S. L. Huang

Tor Books

BUY THE BOOK

S. L. Huang's Critical Point is a breakout SF thriller for fans of John Scalzi and Greg Rucka.

Math-genius mercenary Cas Russell has stopped a shadow organization from brainwashing the world and discovered her past was deliberately erased and her superhuman abilities deliberately created.

And that's just the start: when a demolitions expert targets Cas and her friends, and the hidden conspiracy behind Cas's past starts to reappear, the past, present, and future collide in a race to save one of her dearest friends.

one


I SLOUCHED in my chair, putting my feet up against the edge of the desk. My desk.

I had an office.

The place felt cavernous and stifling at the same time, and massively permanent, as if someone were pinioning...

Praise for Critical Point

"Exhilarating action sequences.... clever plotting and thrilling action." —Publishers Weekly

"High-stakes action and emotional velocity . . . a sf thriller that fans will truly enjoy." —Library Journal

Praise for Zero Sum Game:

"A smart, calculated action thriller that keeps the reader guessing."—Den of Geek

"Trust us, trigonometry has never sounded so cool."—Paste Magazine

“Fun and original.”San Francisco Chronicle

"A fast-paced, darkly humorous read with a lot of heart for fans of action and urban fantasy, as well as lovers of Wolverine and other morally ambiguous, gritty superheroes with a mysterious past."—Booklist, Starred Review

"Fast, furious, and adds up to one of the coolest, most crackin’ reads this year."—Chuck Wendig

"The best novel I've read this year; a heroine I fell in love with."—Eric Van Lustbader, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Cas Russell is who I want to be when I grow up. She kicks ass with her fists and her brain—a true twenty-first century action hero. I loved this book."—Richard Kadrey

"Paced at a flat out sprint."—Kate Elliott

“The smartest and thrillingest book you’ll read all year.”—Ken Liu

"Intense, vivid, and insanely clever, with a great heroine—I couldn't put it down."—Yoon Ha Lee, New York Times bestselling author

"This hard-to-put-down, action-packed sf debut is intelligent and entertaining. With Cas, Huang has created an indelible, flawed character who makes mathematics seem almost magical."—Library Journal, S… More…

"Exhilarating action sequences.... clever plotting and thrilling action." —Publishers Weekly

"High-stakes action and emotional velocity . . . a sf thriller that fans will truly enjoy." —Library Journal

Praise for Zero Sum Game:

"A smart, calculated action thriller that keeps the reader guessing."—Den of Geek

"Trust us, trigonometry has never sounded so cool."—Paste Magazine

“Fun and original.”San Francisco Chronicle

"A fast-paced, darkly humorous read with a lot of heart for fans of action and urban fantasy, as well as lovers of Wolverine and other morally ambiguous, gritty superheroes with a mysterious past."—Booklist, Starred Review

"Fast, furious, and adds up to one of the coolest, most crackin’ reads this year."—Chuck Wendig

"The best novel I've read this year; a heroine I fell in love with."—Eric Van Lustbader, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Cas Russell is who I want to be when I grow up. She kicks ass with her fists and her brain—a true twenty-first century action hero. I loved this book."—Richard Kadrey

"Paced at a flat out sprint."—Kate Elliott

“The smartest and thrillingest book you’ll read all year.”—Ken Liu

"Intense, vivid, and insanely clever, with a great heroine—I couldn't put it down."—Yoon Ha Lee, New York Times bestselling author

"This hard-to-put-down, action-packed sf debut is intelligent and entertaining. With Cas, Huang has created an indelible, flawed character who makes mathematics seem almost magical."—Library Journal, Starred Review

“A paranormal thriller in which both the action and the questions don't stop....Cas is an awesome antiheroine...exciting, nasty fun...an excellent harbinger for books to come.”—Kirkus

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

S. L. Huang

S. L. HUANG has a math degree from MIT and is a professional stuntwoman & armorer who has worked in Hollywood on Battlestar Galactica and a number of other productions. Her short fiction has appeared in Strange Horizons, Nature, and The Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy 2016. She is the author of the Cas Russell series, which includes Zero Sum Game, Null Set, and Critical Point.

image of S. L. Huango
Chris Massa, Chris Massa Photography

Read Interview with Author at DenofGeek

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER