Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The First Mistake

The First Mistake

Sandie Jones

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Hello Sunshine Book Club pick The Other Woman, comes an addictively readable new domestic suspense about a wife, her husband, and the woman who is supposedly her best friend.

THE WIFE: For Alice, life has never been better. With her second husband, she has a successful business, two children, and a beautiful house.

HER HUSBAND: Alice knows that life could have been different if her first husband had lived, but Nathan’s arrival into her life gave her back the happiness she craved.

HER BEST FRIEND: Through the ups and downs of life, from celebratory nights out to comforting each other through loss, Alice knows that with her best friend Beth by her side, they can survive anything together. So when Nathan starts acting strangely, Alice turns to Beth for help. But soon, Alice begins to wonder whether her trust has been misplaced . . .

The first mistake could be her last.

Praise for The Other Woman:

"One of the most twisted and entertaining plots."—Reese Witherspoon
"A perfect beach read."—Kristin Hannah
"Whiplash-inducing."—New York Times Book Review
"Such fun you'll cheer [Emily's] chutzpah."—PEOPLE
"This thriller will hit close to home."—Refinery29

ONE


“Sophia, let’s go,” I call out from the hall. “Livvy, where’s your homework?”

She huffs and rushes off to the kitchen. “I thought you’d put it in my bag.”

“I’m your mother, not your slave. And besides,...

Praise for The First Mistake

One of Women.com's "Best Books You Need to Buy in June"!
A New York Post "Summer Book Sure to Send Chills Down Your Spine"
Named one of She Reads' "Best Thrillers by Women in 2019"

"Riveting . . . The twisty plot builds to a shocking conclusion. This puzzler reinforces Jones's status as a rising suspense star."—Publishers Weekly

"Jones, who showed her skill at ramping up suspense in her debut, The Other Woman (2018), surprises everyone with the revelations in her powerful climactic close, which presents Alice with a fateful choice. A provocative view of trust, placed and misplaced."—Booklist

"An addictive, page-turning thriller."—National Examiner

"All is mysterious and deceiving, all is logical... Brilliantly done, The First Mistake is a pleasure to read."—Bookreporter

"The story unveils secrets and lies you won't believe. I know what you're thinking. You've heard this before...right? Nope! Advice: Read this!"—Suspense Magazine

"[A] riveting domestic thriller that'll leave readers breathless. A novel so addicting and hypnotic that it demands to be read in one sitting. Sandie Jones proves she's one of the best writers the genre has to offer . . . and The First Mistake is a must-read for fans of Gillian Flynn, Greer Hendricks, and Shari Lapena."—The Real Book Spy

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Sandie Jones

SANDIE JONES has worked as a freelance journalist for more than twenty years and has written for publications including the Sunday Times, Woman’s Weekly, and the Daily Mail. She lives in London with her husband and three children. The Other Woman was her debut novel and a Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club pick.

image of Sandie Joneso
Jeff Oliver

Sandie Jones at Belle of the Bookcase

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER