Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

The Midnight Children

Author: Dan Gemeinhart

The Midnight Children

The Midnight Children

About This Book

From Dan Gemeinhart, the acclaimed author of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, comes an extraordinary story about a family of runaways who take up residence in a small town,...

Page Count
352
On Sale
08/30/2022
Age Range
8-12

Book Details

From Dan Gemeinhart, the acclaimed author of The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, comes an extraordinary story about a family of runaways who take up residence in a small town, and the outcast boy who finds his voice and his peopleperfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Kate DiCamillo.

In the dead of night, a truck arrives in Slaughterville, a small town curiously named after its windowless slaughterhouse. Seven mysterious kids with suitcases step out of the vehicle and into an abandoned home on a dead-end street, looking over their shoulders to make sure they aren't noticed.

But Ravani Foster covertly witnesses their arrival from his bedroom window. Timid and lonely, Ravani is eager to learn everything he can about his new neighbors: What secrets are they hiding? And most mysterious of all...where are the adults?

Yet amid this shadowy group of children, Ravani finds an unexpected friend in the warm and gutsy Virginia. But with this friendship comes secrets revealed—and danger. When Ravani learns of a threat to his new friends, he must fight to keep them safe, or lose the only person who has ever understood him.

Full of wonder, friendship, and mystery, The Midnight Children explores the meaning of "home," what makes a family, and what it takes to find the courage to believe in yourself.

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN

9781250196729

In The News

* "A story of fierce friendship, bravery, loyalty, and finding—or making—a place to belong." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "The children forge the story’s path as they powerfully change their community through courageous honesty and emotional vulnerability." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Distinctive narration and heart-pounding suspense will carry this kids-outwit-grownups tale deep into your heart to the place where courage is born." —Rosanne Parry, bestselling author of A Wolf Called Wander

"The Midnight Children has a touch of Roald Dahl, a dash of the Boxcar children, and a whole lot of honesty and heart . . . Told in a riveting voice, this is Dan Gemeinhart’s best yet and that’s saying something." —Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award-winning author of The Bridge Home

"
A creepy, strange, and surprisingly sweet story of friendship and belonging. Equal parts Kate DiCamillo and Shirley Jackson, this book is unlike anything else I've ever read—you will love it." —Jonathan Auxier, New York Times-bestselling author of Night Gardener and Sweep: the Story of a Girl and her Monster

"The midnight children might sneak into town quietly, but there’s nothing quiet about this sparkling story. It felt like fireworks in my heart." —New York Times-bestselling author Natalie Lloyd

"A story to make a soul ache, a story to make a soul heal, a story to make a soul leap." —Dusti Bowling, award-winning author of The Canyon's Edge

"
A magical and darkly humorous journey into a world of mysterious children, timeless villains, and the undeniable power of friendship.” —Melanie Conklin, author of A Perfect Mistake and Every Missing Piece


Praise for The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

A 2020 ILA Teachers’ Choice
A 2019 Parents' Choice Award Gold Medal Winner
Winner of the 2019 CYBILS Award for Middle Grade Fiction
An Amazon Top 20 Children's Book of 2019
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A Bank Street Books' Best Books of the Year
A Bookriot "25 Of The Best Middle School Books For Today's Readers" Pick
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2019
A 2020 Lone Star Reading List Selection

"Sometimes a story comes along that just plain makes you want to hug the world. The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise is Dan Gemeinhart’s finest book yet—and that’s saying something. Your heart needs this joyful miracle of a book." —Katherine Applegate, acclaimed author of The One and Only Ivan and Wishtree

“Coyote’s bold, engaging voice pops off the page . . . Gemeinhart infuses the story with moments of lyrical writing and folksy wisdom served up with a dollop of girl power.” –The New York Times

About the Creators

The Midnight Children

The Midnight Children