Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

The Mysterious Messenger

Author: Gilbert Ford

The Mysterious Messenger

The Mysterious Messenger

About This Book

The Mysterious Messenger is a rich middle grade urban fantasy debut starring young psychic Maria de la Cruz, by the award-winning artist Gilbert Ford.

Eleven-year-old...

Page Count
320
On Sale
07/21/2020
Age Range
9-12

Book Details

The Mysterious Messenger is a rich middle grade urban fantasy debut starring young psychic Maria de la Cruz, by the award-winning artist Gilbert Ford.

Eleven-year-old Maria de la Cruz is trapped under the thumb of Madame Destine, her pseudo-psychic mother. Destine is a bona fide con artist who will stop at nothing to swindle her customers into believing she can communicate with the dead. But Maria, unlike her mother, has a big secret—she really can communicate with the dead, most frequently with a ghost named Edward who has been her only friend since she was a child.

It’s not long before this clairvoyant young sleuth gets wrapped up in an epic journey that combines bookish mystery with the literary movement of the Beat poets and art and jazz history. Maria may have the power to unlock extraordinary secrets, but can she find the treasure Edward sends her clues about? More importantly, can she find true friendship?

This smart, big-hearted debut novel is perfect for fans of Book Scavenger, Winterhouse, and The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN

9781250205674

Reading Guide

In The News

Gilbert Ford has conjured up a winner with this spirited, tender-hearted page-turner. You can’t help pulling for funny, spunky Maria as her lonely quest becomes a treasure hunt of the heart.”—Sheila Turnage, Newbery Honor author of Three Times Lucky

The fun, sparkly supernatural mystery kept me turning pages, but Maria’s bright heart anchored me to the story. Her deep friendships—and her unique way of seeing the world—are enchanting.”—Natalie Lloyd, New York Times-bestselling author of Over the Moon

About the Creators

The Mysterious Messenger

The Mysterious Messenger

The Mysterious Messenger
The Mysterious Messenger
00:00
/
00:00