Book details

She Drives Me Crazy

Author: Kelly Quindlen

She Drives Me Crazy

She Drives Me Crazy

$17.99

About This Book

“A little sweet, a little sharp.” —Booklist, starred review

High school nemeses fall in love in Kelly Quindlen's She Drives Me Crazy,...

Page Count
304
Genre
On Sale
04/20/2021

Book Details

“A little sweet, a little sharp.” —Booklist, starred review

High school nemeses fall in love in Kelly Quindlen's She Drives Me Crazy, a queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston.


After an embarrassing loss to her ex-girlfriend in their first basketball game of the season, seventeen-year-old Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with the worst possible person: her nemesis, Irene Abraham, head cheerleader for the Fighting Reindeer.

Irene is as mean as she is beautiful, so Scottie makes a point to keep her distance. When the accident sends Irene’s car to the shop for weeks’ worth of repairs and the girls are forced to carpool, their rocky start only gets bumpier.

But when an opportunity arises for Scottie to get back at her toxic ex—and climb her school’s social ladder—she bribes Irene into an elaborate fake- dating scheme that threatens to reveal some very real feelings.

From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli.

Imprint Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

ISBN

9781250209153

In The News

*"A little sweet, a little sharp, this romance will resonate with readers looking for an emotional journey."—Booklist, starred review

"A cast of characters you'll fall in love with and a love story you'll be obsessed with—She Drives Me Crazy is one of my favorite rom-coms of the year. Trust me when I say you need this book." —Leah Johnson, author of You Should See Me in a Crown

"Hilarious and full of heart, with a sizzling romance. SHE DRIVES ME CRAZY nails both the hate to love and fake dating tropes with expert execution. I want to live in this town and be friends with these characters so badly, and I'm deeply sad that I can't."
—Rachael Allen, author of A Taxonomy of Love and The Summer of Impossibilities

"
She Drives Me Crazy is the perfect romcom. It’s the kind of romance that is sizzling with chemistry, but still manages to be utterly earnest and heartfelt. A must-read for every romcom fan.” —Adiba Jaigirdar, author of The Henna Wars

"
Things are never easy when love is involved, and Quindlen (Late to the Party) offers a queer refresh of multiple romance genre standbys: enemies to friends (Irene once had Scottie’s car towed), fake dating, sports romance, and surmounting a broken heart. Add in a supportive family whose members actually like each other, and the result is a satisfyingly feminist rom-com mash-up."—Publishers Weekly

PRAISE FOR LATE TO THE PARTY:

"An absolutely stunning, but also incredibly important novel about best friends and discovering who you are." —Mason Deaver, bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best

“Perfectly captures the joys and hopes and thrills of being a real, authentic teenager . . . A fantastic read for queer teens today.” —Kacen Callender, Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author This Is Kind of an Epic Love Story

Late to the Party is right on time to being your favorite read. I didn’t want my time with Quindlen’s characters to end.” —Sara Farizan, Lambda Award–winning author of If You Could Be Mine

"Kelly Quindlen has written a slow-burning, exquisite book well-worth savoring." —Aminah Mae Safi, author of Tell Me How You Really Feel

"A deeply heartfelt and emotionally honest celebration of late bloomers, queer solidarity, and friendships both old and new. This book has a permanent place in my heart." —Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights.

"A love letter to late bloomers, Late to the Party combines teenage angst with first loves and second chances and emphasises that true friends will always be there for you even as you discover new parts of yourself." — The Nerd Daily

"Heartfelt and fun, Quindlen’s latest (Her Name in the Sky, 2014) brings together all the angst, excitement, and uncertainty of the teenage years in an LGBTQ+ friendly package. Fans of Becky Albertalli are sure to love this sometimes painfully relatable heroine and her journey of self discovery. Codi Teller may be late to the party, but readers will be happy she showed up." — Booklist

"Recommended for LGBTQ teens."—School Library Journal

"Quindlen (Her Name in the Sky) deftly conveys both the awkwardness of outgrowing an old life without having a clue how to move toward a new one. —Publisher Weekly

About the Creators

She Drives Me Crazy

She Drives Me Crazy

$17.99