Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

Who Did It First? (Volume 2)

Author: edited by Alex Hart; written by Jay Leslie; illustrated by Nneka Myers

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

$18.99

About This Book

A "2020 NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People" Selection

A vibrantly illustrated and compelling collection of profiles about women and men who revolutionized...

Page Count
128
On Sale
02/11/2020

Book Details

A "2020 NCSS Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People" Selection

A vibrantly illustrated and compelling collection of profiles about women and men who revolutionized politics, policy, commerce and activism.


You likely know that Barack Obama was the first African American president of the United States. And you maybe you know that Sandra Day O’Connor was the first woman to serve as a Supreme Court Justice. But you might not know that Nelson Mandela was the first black president of South Africa. Or that Schuyler Bailar is the first openly transgender NCAA Division 1 swimmer.

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World brings together all of these trailblazers into one stunning package. With both well-known figures and lesser-known heroes, this book is a celebration of the inspiring innovators who braved uncharted waters to pave the path for future generations.

Perfect for fans of Little Leaders, Women in Science, and Rad Women Worldwide, Who Did It First? makes a wonderful gift for any occasion and is a must-have for every young reader’s library.

Featuring Oprah Winfrey, Steve Jobs, Indira Gandhi, Melinda Gates, Janet Mock, LeBron James, Madam C.J. Walker, Thomas Gallaudet, and many others.

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN

9781250211729

In The News

"Accessible and reader friendly, making for a quick-paced yet informative book." —School Library Journal

About the Creators

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

$18.99