Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World

Who Did It First? (Volume 2)

edited by Alex Hart; written by Jay Leslie; illustrated by Nneka Myers

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

A vibrantly illustrated and compelling collection of profiles about women and men who revolutionized politics, policy, commerce and activism.

You likely know that Barack Obama was the first African American president of the United States. And you maybe you know that Sandra Day O’Connor was the first woman to serve as a Supreme Court Justice. But you might not know that Nelson Mandela was the first black president of South Africa. Or that Schuyler Bailar is the first openly transgender NCAA Division 1 swimmer.

Who Did It First? 50 Politicians, Activists, and Entrepreneurs Who Revolutionized the World brings together all of these trailblazers into one stunning package. With both well-known figures and lesser-known heroes, this book is a celebration of the inspiring innovators who braved uncharted waters to pave the path for future generations.

Perfect for fans of Little Leaders, Women in Science, and Rad Women Worldwide, Who Did It First? makes a wonderful gift for any occasion and is a must-have for every young reader’s library.

Featuring Oprah Winfrey, Steve Jobs, Indira Gandhi, Melinda Gates, Janet Mock, LeBron James, Madam C.J. Walker, Thomas Gallaudet, and many others.

edited by Alex Hart; written by Jay Leslie; illustrated by Nneka Myers

Alex Hart is the pseudonym for a children’s book editor and author who is the first person in his family to write and publish a book. He lives with his husband in Brooklyn, New York and Hillsdale, New York.

Jay Leslie graduated from Duke University with degrees in English, international comparative studies, and religion. After writing for Issa Rae Productions and being shortlisted for Chimamanda Adichie’s Farafina Trust, she co-authored a project on James Baldwin with Duke professor Dr. Adam Hollowell. She lives in Berlin, Germany.

Nneka Myers paints worlds filled with color, texture, life and diversity. Based in Toronto, Ontario, she is the first in her family to become a full-time character designer (Esme & Roy) and illustrator (Jada Jones, Nella the Princess Knight). Nneka can often be found looking for inspiration in vintage fashion, drinking tea with friends or playing video games.

Jay Leslie

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER