Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
They Threw Us Away

They Threw Us Away

The Teddies Saga (Volume 1)

Daniel Kraus; illustrated by Rovina Cai

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

BUY THE BOOK

"A deliciously macabre fairy tale, full of snuggles.” —Holly Black, award-winning author of Doll Bones and co-creator of The Spiderwick Chronicles

Welcome to The Teddies Saga, a gripping new middle grade trilogy from New York Times-bestselling author Daniel Kraus and illustrator Rovina Cai.

Buddy wakes up in the middle of a garbage dump, filled with a certain awareness: he’s a teddy bear; he spent time at a Store waiting for his future to begin; and he is meant for the loving arms of a child. Now he knows one more thing: Something has gone terribly wrong.

Soon he finds other discarded teddies—Horace, Sugar, Sunny, and Reginald. Though they aren’t sure how their luck soured, they all agree that they need to get back to the Store if they’re ever to fulfill their destinies. So, they embark on a perilous trek across the dump and into the outer world. With ravenous rats, screeching gulls, and a menacing world in front of them, the teddies will need to overcome insurmountable challenges to find their way home.

Equal parts Toy Story and Lord of the Flies, They Threw Us Away is the unforgettable start of a captivating series.

1


Buddy woke up.

Nothing was right, or as hoped, or as promised. He knew that instantly. The silky, humming, fluttering overhead lights of the Store had been replaced by unbroken yellow light. It was hot against his plush....

Praise for They Threw Us Away

"Reminiscent of Watership Down...reflective children will revel in this thought-provoking world." —Kirkus, Starred Review

"By turns swashbuckling and reflective, touching and disturbing, this existential work of fantasy and horror considers what one is willing to sacrifice when utterly lost." —Publishers Weekly

"With a nod to Watership Down...[r]eaders with a taste for disturbing adventures and disquieting revelations will be well served." —Booklist

"Fans of Toy Story or The Velveteen Rabbit might be aghast, but readers who knew there was always something a little off about their playthings will appreciate this uniquely horrific take." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER