Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
salt slow

salt slow

Julia Armfield

Flatiron Books

BUY THE BOOK

From White Review Short Story Prize winner Julia Armfield, a brilliant, provocative debut story collection for fans of Carmen Maria Machado and Kelly Link.

In her electrifying debut, Julia Armfield explores women’s experiences in contemporary society, mapped through their bodies. As urban dwellers’ sleeps become disassociated from them, like Peter Pan’s shadow, a city turns insomniac. A teenager entering puberty finds her body transforming in ways very different than her classmates’. As a popular band gathers momentum, the fangirls following their tour turn into something monstrous. After their parents remarry, two step-sisters, one a girl and one a wolf, develop a dangerously close bond. And in an apocalyptic landscape, a pregnant woman begins to realize that the creature in her belly is not what she expected.

Blending elements of horror, science fiction, mythology, and feminism, salt slow is an utterly original collection of short stories that are sure to dazzle and shock, heralding the arrival of a daring new voice.

Praise for salt slow

Praise for salt slow

“Reading this collection is the only thing you need to do right now. Armfield is an enormous, gut-wrenching talent.”
Daisy Johnson, Booker Prize-shortlisted author of Everything Under

“salt slow is exemplary. A distinct new gothic, melancholy, powerful, and poised.”
China Miéville, author of The City & The City

“These are brilliantly addictive, barbed, illusive stories. Armfield creates a cleverly unsettling, iridescent world that we are all the better for entering.”
Irenosen Okojie, author of Speak Gigantular

“Visceral, fierce and beautifully unsettling, Armfield’s writing has an astonishing power. This collection haunted me with its brilliance.”
Elizabeth Macneal, author of The Doll Factory

“Armfield’s work has a timelessness to it, and a generosity of emotion that’s brave and affecting.”
Chloe Aridjis, author of Book of Clouds

“Unafraid to venture beyond realism’s limits…Armfield is a significant, exciting talent.”
Sam Byers, author of Perfidious Albion

“Eerie, otherworldly…For fans of Carmen Maria Machado, Sophie Mackintosh, and Megan Hunter.”
Elle (UK)

Reviews from Goodreads

Julia Armfield

Julia Armfield is a fiction writer and occasional playwright with a Masters in Victorian Art and Literature from Royal Holloway University. Her work has been published in The White Review, Lighthouse, Analog Magazine, Neon Magazine and The Stockholm Review. She was commended in the Moth Short Story Prize 2017 and won the White Review Short Story Prize with two of the stories in this collection. She lives in London, where she is at work on her debut novel.

image of Julia Armfieldo
Sophie Davidson

Julia Armfield