Book details

Hush

A Novel

The Hush Series (Volume 1)

Author: Dylan Farrow

Hush

Hush

About This Book

Graceling meets Red Queen in this exciting debut novel by an electrifying new voice

"Hush has all the trappings of a great...

Page Count
384
Genre
On Sale
10/06/2020

Book Details

Graceling meets Red Queen in this exciting debut novel by an electrifying new voice

"Hush has all the trappings of a great fantasy: a curse, a labyrinthine castle, many secrets, and powerful magic. At the center of it all, a girl unwilling to allow her world to be twisted by lies when she knows the truth. A truly gripping read." - Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints

They use magic to silence the world. Who will break the hush?

Seventeen-year-old Shae has led a seemingly quiet life, joking with her best friend Fiona, and chatting with Mads, the neighborhood boy who always knows how to make her smile. All while secretly keeping her fears at bay… Of the disease that took her brother’s life. Of how her dreams seem to bleed into reality around her. Of a group of justice seekers called the Bards who claim to use the magic of Telling to keep her community safe.

When her mother is murdered, she can no longer pretend.

Not knowing who to trust, Shae journeys to unlock the truth, instead finding a new enemy keen to destroy her, a brooding boy with dark secrets, and an untold power she never thought possible.

From Dylan Farrow comes Hush, a powerful fantasy where one girl is determined to remake the world.

Imprint Publisher

Wednesday Books

ISBN

9781250235909

In The News

An Entertainment Weekly Must
One of Gizmodo's Best Books of October
One of Frolic's Top Ten Books of October

One of The Nerd Daily's Best Books of October

"You'll be hooked from the first page." - HelloGiggles, "October's Best New Books"

"A captivating YA fantasy that kept me guessing all the way through... Highly recommend for fans of Tricia Levenseller, Cassandra Clare, and Amanda Hocking." - Young Adult Books Central

"In this cruel, beautiful realm, all reading and writing as well as select spoken words are strictly forbidden to the lower classes, while the elite of Montane, called Bards, are skilled in the powerful magic of Telling — a form of reality-altering sorcery based in the use of language... The novel speaks brilliantly to the many ills of 2020." - Entertainment Weekly

"[A] notable debut... The themes of quarantine and deadly disease in the context of current events are poignant; Farrow deftly demonstrates the power of language and education in the hands of the elite as a means for controlling others through propaganda. An intriguing female-driven dystopian fantasy for the same audience who loved the “Hunger Games” series." - School Library Journal

"Incorporating commentary on propaganda, censorship, and female empowerment, Farrow's debut reveals her activist roots." - Booklist

"Hush has all the trappings of a great fantasy: a curse, a labyrinthine castle, many secrets, and powerful magic. At the center of it all, a girl unwilling to allow her world to be twisted by lies when she knows the truth. A truly gripping read." - Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints and Ruthless Gods

"Hush is a captivating tale of a girl's fight for her voice in a world where the only thing deadlier than power is the truth. Shae's search for answers in the dark will stay with readers long after the last page." - Margaret Owen, author of The Merciful Crow

"Farrow carefully crafts a layered world hiding dark secrets and gives us a fierce protagonist determined to unearth the truth-no matter the consequences. A compelling tale that's bound to grab your heart." - Swati Teerdhala, author of the Tiger at Midnight series

About the Creators

Hush

Hush