Book details

The Last Watch

The Divide Series (Volume 1)

Author: J. S. Dewes

The Last Watch

The Last Watch

About This Book

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes's fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, the first book in the Divide series, where a handful of soldiers...

Page Count
480
On Sale
04/20/2021

Book Details

The Expanse meets Game of Thrones in J. S. Dewes's fast-paced, sci-fi adventure The Last Watch, the first book in the Divide series, where a handful of soldiers stand between humanity and annihilation.

10 Best Books Like Foundation—ScreenRant
20 Must Read Space Fantasy Books for 2021—Bookriot

Most Anticipated Book for April 2021:
Bookish
Nerd Daily
Geek Tyrant
SFF 180


Amazon Best of the Month April 2021

The Divide.

It’s the edge of the universe.

Now it’s collapsing—and taking everyone and everything with it.

The only ones who can stop it are the Sentinels—the recruits, exiles, and court-martialed dregs of the military.

At the Divide, Adequin Rake commands the Argus. She has no resources, no comms—nothing, except for the soldiers that no one wanted. Her ace in the hole could be Cavalon Mercer--genius, asshole, and exiled prince who nuked his grandfather's genetic facility for “reasons.”

She knows they’re humanity's last chance.

The Divide series
The Last Watch
The Exiled Fleet

Imprint Publisher

Tor Books

ISBN

9781250236340

In The News

Praise for The Last Watch

One of the most stunning sci-fi series debuts of recent years. Fans of the genre—and particularly those already mourning the end of The Expanse series later this year—don’t want to miss out on this nail-biting space epic.”—Vulture

“Dewes’s debut is an exciting, fast-paced ride around the edges of the universe, where those rejected by much of humanity are the only ones who can save it. Fans of K. B. Wagers’s ‘Farian Wars’ series and John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War will welcome this military science fiction thriller.” —Library Journal, starred review

The Last Watch is a bravura debut that blends great action with compelling characters, lighting up this new series like a dark matter generator.” —Booklist

"Gripping space opera debut." —Publishers Weekly

The Last Watch is my pick for science fiction debut of the year. Dewes has written a masterwork space opera that needs to be on bookshelves world-wide. Epic, character-driven sci-fi goodness that is the cure for your Expanse hangover.”—FanFi Addict

A high-energy thrill ride at the edge of space featuring a crew of miscreants racing against time aboard an ancient spaceship. A great concept with an even better execution, this is a sci-fi space opera for readers looking to dial up the excitement.”—Bookpage (starred review)

An epic tale of survival at the end of the universe.” —Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Velocity Weapon

“Crisp writing, vivid characters, and a plot that beguiles the imagination. The Last Watch is a stunning military sci-fi debut. I was hooked from the opening lines. If you like science fiction, then this book is definitely for you.” —Jasper T. Scott, USA Today Bestselling Author

The Last Watch is an amazing debut. The smart world-building and explode-off-the page action scenes make it perfect for fans of The Expanse and other fast-paced Sci Fi. I predict that Dewes is going to be a 'must read' author for years to come.” —Michael Mammay, author of Planetside

More fun than that time The Expendables, the Dirty Dozen and all of The Night’s Watch all got picked up by a random quantum tear in the fabric of spacetime and shot out the edge of the universe to kick ass and save humanity.” —John Birmingham, author of the Axis of Time trilogy

“Take the action of Marko Kloos' Frontlines novels, mix in the intricate world building of Game of Thrones or Warhammer 40,000, and light the fuse. . . . Bursting with snappy dialogue and detail and furious with action, you’ll want to catch your breath when it’s over, and then you’ll want more. Bring it on.” —Dayton Ward, bestselling author

A scary edge-of-reality setup, cool martial-arts tattoos, interesting time anomalies, and OMG! The Universe is contracting!? Clear your schedule, because once you've gotten on this roller coaster, you're not going to want to get off until you've ridden it to the end.” —Emily Devenport, author of Medusa Uploaded

The Last Watch by J.S. Dewes is as spectacular a science fiction story as one is going to find. From a plot that is full of drama to amazing characters that are relatable and interesting, all over a backdrop of a futuristic space setting, The Last Watch is nearly flawless.” —FanFi Addict

The Last Watch has it all! Risky orbital maneuvers! Knife fights with grotesque aliens! Mysterious ancient artifacts! Secret royalty! Tragic backstories! It's classic military space opera with a touch of the cosmic.” —David Levine, winner of the Andre Norton Award for Arabella of Mars

“J.S. Dewes' impressive debut...features big ideas, kick-ass characters, and an environmental collapse; you have to try to not be interested in this book. Highly recommended!” —Primmlife

About the Creators

The Last Watch

The Last Watch