Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Stormrise

Stormrise

Jillian Boehme; read by Renee Chambliss

Macmillan Young Listeners

BUY THE BOOK

$26.99

Macmillan Young Listeners

Macmillan Audio

On Sale: 09/24/2019

ISBN: 9781250243478

12:1:0

A combat warrior will risk everything to awaken the dragons and save her kingdom in Jillian Boehme's epic YA Fantasy debut, Stormrise, inspired by Twelfth Night and perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce.

If Rain weren’t a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants.

Knowing she’ll be killed if she’s discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training—and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed.

As war looms and Rain is enlisted into an elite, secret unit tasked with rescuing the High King, she begins to realize this dragon tincture may hold the key to her kingdom’s victory. For the dragons that once guarded her land have slumbered for centuries . . . and someone must awaken them to fight once more.

1


I assumed the second stance—legs spread, knees bent, back sword-straight—and wondered for the thousandth time if I looked anything like the son I should have been.

“Quiet your breathing, Rain.” Papa’s voice was...

Praise for Stormrise

“A bold girl, a kingdom under attack, magic everywhere—I devoured it in one sitting! This book is one wild ride!” —Tamora Pierce

“Stand aside, Daenerys Targaryen. Stormrise is a gorgeous, non-stop adventure that kept me turning the pages well into the night!” —Sarah Ahiers

-

Jillian Boehme; read by Renee Chambliss

JILLIAN BOEHME is known to the online writing community as Authoress, hostess of Miss Snark’s First Victim, a popular blog for aspiring authors. In addition to having a background in theatre (which has produced a life-long love for the stage), she is also a classical pianist, a freelance editor, and an unapologetic foodie. Stormrise is her debut novel.

image of Jillian Boehmeo
Rachel Boehme