Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Mountains Wild

The Mountains Wild

Sarah Stewart Taylor

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

"With its evocative Dublin setting, lyrical prose, tough but sympathetic heroine, and a killer twist in the plot, Sarah Stewart Taylor's The Mountains Wild should top everyone's must-read lists this year!" — New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie

In a series debut for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson, set in Dublin and New York, homicide detective Maggie D'Arcy finally tackles the case that changed the course of her life.

Twenty-three years ago, Maggie D'Arcy's family received a call from the Dublin police. Her cousin Erin has been missing for several days. Maggie herself spent weeks in Ireland, trying to track Erin's movements, working beside the police. But it was to no avail: no trace of her was ever found.

The experience inspired Maggie to become a cop. Now, back on Long Island, more than 20 years have passed. Maggie is a detective and a divorced mother of a teenager. When the Gardaí call to say that Erin's scarf has been found and another young woman has gone missing, Maggie returns to Ireland, awakening all the complicated feelings from the first trip. The despair and frustration of not knowing what happened to Erin. Her attraction to Erin's coworker, now a professor, who never fully explained their relationship. And her determination to solve the case, once and for all.

A lyrical, deeply drawn portrait of a woman - and a country - over two decades - The Mountains Wild introduces a compelling new mystery series from a mesmerizing author.

Praise for The Mountains Wild

Advance Praise for The Mountains Wild

"A tale of suspense, gorgeously told, eerily atmospheric, set in an Ireland so vivid you can smell the peat smoke. Not to be missed.” International bestselling author Michele Campbell

"The Mountains Wild has all the ingredients you'd want in a tasty thriller — twisted plots, uncertainty about who to trust, dogged investigators and a gripping climax — but it also has two extra spices. First, the setting of Ireland is so vivid and precise, you can practically taste the pints and smell the peat fires. Second, this novel has incredible tenderness and emotional accuracy. This is a thriller with a big heart." — Stephen P. Kiernan

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Sarah Stewart Taylor

SARAH STEWART TAYLOR is the author of the Sweeney St. George series and a forthcoming novel that will be the first in a new series about an American police detective in Ireland. She grew up on Long Island, was educated at Middlebury College and Trinity College, Dublin and she lived in Dublin, Ireland in the mid-90s. She now lives with her family on a farm in Vermont where they raise sheep and grow blueberries. You can visit her online at www.SarahStewartTaylor.com.

image of Sarah Stewart Tayloro
Sharona Jacobs

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER