Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Gone for Good

Gone for Good

Detective Annalisa Vega (Volume 1)

Joanna Schaffhausen

Minotaur Books


Gone For Good is the first in a new mystery series from award-winning author Joanna Schaffhausen, featuring Detective Annalisa Vega, in which a cold case heats up.

The Lovelorn Killer murdered seven women, ritually binding them and leaving them for dead before penning them gruesome love letters in the local papers. Then he disappeared, and after twenty years with no trace of him, many believe that he’s gone for good.

Not Grace Harper. A grocery store manager by day, at night Grace uses her snooping skills as part of an amateur sleuth group. She believes the Lovelorn Killer is still living in the same neighborhoods that he hunted in, and if she can figure out how he selected his victims, she will have the key to his identity.

Detective Annalisa Vega lost someone she loved to the killer. Now she’s at a murder scene with the worst kind of déjà vu: Grace Harper lies bound and dead on the floor, surrounded by clues to the biggest murder case that Chicago homicide never solved. Annalisa has the chance to make it right and to heal her family, but first, she has to figure out what Grace knew—how to see a killer who may be standing right in front of you. This means tracing his steps back to her childhood, peering into dark corners she hadn’t acknowledged before, and learning that despite everything the killer took, she has still so much more to lose.

Praise for Gone for Good

“Annalisa Vega is the detective you’ve been waiting for. A second generation Chicago cop, she has the chops to take on a serial killer, a large family to keep her grounded, and personal experience with the secrets behind closed doors.”--Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"Gone for Good is a riveting exploration into the dark heart of violent crime and the scars it leaves behind. Joanna Schaffhausen is a master of the craft." --Carol Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of The Lake of Dead Languages and The Sea of Lost Girls

Praise for Joanna Schaffhausen:

“Schaffhausen’s debut is a fantastic, convoluted thriller that will have her audience on the edge of their seats...The storytelling is exceptional and the dialogue is powerful. This chilling tale will have readers guessing till the end!” —RT Book Reviews on The Vanishing Season

"Schaffhausen writes gritty characters and weary victims with great skill, and she likely has another hit on her hands here. Give this one to Karin Slaughter fans and to readers who like determined heroines who have a way with cold cases." —Booklist on No Mercy

Schaffhausen is an ace at probing the nooks and crannies of victimology, and this installment's focus on surviving violence provides her with plenty of space to shine." —Shelfawareness on No Mercy


Joanna Schaffhausen

JOANNA SCHAFFHAUSEN wields a mean scalpel, skills developed in her years studying neuroscience. She has a doctorate in psychology, which reflects her long-standing interest in the brain—how it develops and the many ways it can go wrong. Previously, she worked for ABC News, writing for programs such as World News Tonight, Good Morning America, and 20/20. She lives in the Boston area with her husband and daughter. She is also the author of The Vanishing Season, No Mercy, All the Best Lies, and Every Waking Hour.

Read Author Interview at Mystery People

Minotaur Books

Latest on Facebook