Book details

I Wanna Be Where You Are

Author: Kristina Forest

I Wanna Be Where You Are

I Wanna Be Where You Are

About This Book

A YA rom-com about a ballet dancer willing to go the distance for an audition and the cute, but terrible, boy who blackmails his way into her road trip.
Page Count
272
Genre
On Sale
06/04/2019

Book Details

A debut young adult rom-com about an African American ballerina who finds love on the road to an audition.

"In a world where it's easy to lose faith in love, I Wanna Be Where You Are is a brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut." — Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out

When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe’s mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe’s chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast—two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat.

Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, Kristina Forest's I Wanna Be Where You Are is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.

Imprint Publisher

Roaring Brook Press

ISBN

9781250294883

In The News

"A brilliant burst of light. A dazzling debut." —Nic Stone, New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin

"A novel bursting with humor and struggle and heart—and the call to do what we love, even when it isn't easy." —Nina LaCour, author of the Printz Award-winning We Are Okay

"A bighearted story about being brave enough to go for what you want, even when the rules tell you something different. —The New York Times

"This is an engaging, romantic story that explores dealing with relationships, loss, and having the courage to follow your heart, romantically and otherwise." —Horn Book

"A strong debut, recommended for dancers and wallflowers alike." —School Library Journal

"Chloe's arc allows readers to follow her from insecure nightmares to coming one step closer to realizing big and small dreams." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Creators

I Wanna Be Where You Are

I Wanna Be Where You Are