Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Flatshare

The Flatshare

A Novel

Beth O'Leary

Flatiron Books

BUY THE BOOK

What if your roommate is your soul mate? A joyful, quirky romantic comedy, Beth O'Leary's The Flatshare is a feel-good novel about finding love in the most unexpected of ways.

Tiffy and Leon share an apartment. Tiffy and Leon have never met.

After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a place to live. Fast. And cheap. But the apartments in her budget have her wondering if astonishingly colored mold on the walls counts as art.

Desperation makes her open minded, so she answers an ad for a flatshare. Leon, a night shift worker, will take the apartment during the day, and Tiffy can have it nights and weekends. He’ll only ever be there when she’s at the office. In fact, they’ll never even have to meet.

Tiffy and Leon start writing each other notes – first about what day is garbage day, and politely establishing what leftovers are up for grabs, and the evergreen question of whether the toilet seat should stay up or down. Even though they are opposites, they soon become friends. And then maybe more.

But falling in love with your roommate is probably a terrible idea…especially if you've never met.

1

TIFFY


You’ve got to say this for desperation: It makes you much more open-minded.

I really can see some positives in this flat. The technicolor mold on the kitchen wall will scrub off, at least in the short...

Praise for The Flatshare

“The story is a delight from start to finish…With likable main characters, spot-on dialogue, a fun premise, and plenty of drama, there's a lot to like in this sweet story. A warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.”
—Kirkus, starred review

The Flatshare is a huge, heartwarming triumph.”
Josie Silver, #1 NYT bestselling author of One Day in December

“The new Jojo Moyes...This has all the ingredients of Me Before You…Seriously funny.”
Cosmopolitan (UK)

“O’Leary's debut is a sweet, quirky novel about two complete opposites falling for one another under the cutest of circumstances...Perfect for fans of Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient and Sally Thorne's The Hating Game.
—Booklist

“I finished The Flatshare in one sitting – it is, as promised, incredibly uplifting and joyous. I spent the last few hours with a massive smile on my face. I have fallen head over heels in love with Tiffy and Leon, and indeed with this book.”
Louise O’Neill, #1 international bestselling author of Asking For It

“Clever debut…O’Leary’s story packs plenty of laughs and gasps; fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary will want to give this a look.”
—Publishers Weekly

"The Flatshare starts out as a sweet, funny, beautifully written romance with great dialogue and characters you'd love to share a flat with...and then, once you're hooked, it deepens and becomes so much more. It's a cheering, lovely look at friendship and love and learning to trust after heartbreak. I ne… More…




“The story is a delight from start to finish…With likable main characters, spot-on dialogue, a fun premise, and plenty of drama, there's a lot to like in this sweet story. A warm, enchanting love story perfect for fans of classic rom-coms.”
—Kirkus, starred review

The Flatshare is a huge, heartwarming triumph.”
Josie Silver, #1 NYT bestselling author of One Day in December

“The new Jojo Moyes...This has all the ingredients of Me Before You…Seriously funny.”
Cosmopolitan (UK)

“O’Leary's debut is a sweet, quirky novel about two complete opposites falling for one another under the cutest of circumstances...Perfect for fans of Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient and Sally Thorne's The Hating Game.
—Booklist

“I finished The Flatshare in one sitting – it is, as promised, incredibly uplifting and joyous. I spent the last few hours with a massive smile on my face. I have fallen head over heels in love with Tiffy and Leon, and indeed with this book.”
Louise O’Neill, #1 international bestselling author of Asking For It

“Clever debut…O’Leary’s story packs plenty of laughs and gasps; fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary will want to give this a look.”
—Publishers Weekly

"The Flatshare starts out as a sweet, funny, beautifully written romance with great dialogue and characters you'd love to share a flat with...and then, once you're hooked, it deepens and becomes so much more. It's a cheering, lovely look at friendship and love and learning to trust after heartbreak. I never wanted it to end." Maddie Dawson, bestselling author of Matchmaking for Beginners and The Survivor's Guide to Family Happiness

"Tiffy and Leon will stay in your head long after you turn the final page. This is a gorgeously written, highly original love story that will resonate with anyone who has ever experienced the questionable joys of shared living. I absolutely loved it." Phoebe Morgan, #1 bestselling author of The Doll House

“In the league of Bridget Jones and Marian Keyes’ Walsh sister books … Fresh, funny and feel-good.”
—Claire Allan, bestselling author of The First Time I Said Goodbye

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Beth O'Leary

Beth O’Leary worked in children's publishing before becoming a full time author. The Flatshare is her debut novel. The idea for The Flatshare came to Beth when her doctor boyfriend was doing long night shifts as part of his training and they could go weeks without seeing each other, but she could track his life by how many cups of coffee were left on the counter, by how much he’d eaten and whether the bookmark in his novel had changed locations. It made her wonder – what could you learn about someone if you lived together but never overlapped?