Book details

The Greatest Thing

Author: Sarah Winifred Searle

The Greatest Thing

The Greatest Thing

$17.99

About This Book

This tender YA comic is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends who are ready to graduate to their first teen graphic...

Page Count
352
Genre
On Sale
01/25/2022

Book Details

This tender YA comic is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends who are ready to graduate to their first teen graphic novel.

It’s the first day of sophomore year, and now that Winifred’s two best (and only) friends have transferred to a private school, she must navigate high school on her own.

But she isn’t alone for long. In art class, she meets two offbeat students, Oscar and April. The three bond through clandestine sleepovers, thrift store shopping, and zine publishing. Winifred is finally breaking out of her shell, but there’s one secret she can’t bear to admit to April and Oscar, or even to herself—and this lie is threatening to destroy her newfound friendships.

With breathtaking art and honest storytelling, rising star Sarah Winifred Searle delivers a heartfelt story about love, friendship, and self-acceptance.

Imprint Publisher

First Second

ISBN

9781250297235

In The News

"Sarah Winifred Searle's comics look the way I wish the world did. She combines raw emotions with gorgeous artwork to create stories full of feeling, intention, and heart. Give this book to the teens in your life."
—Tillie Walden, author of Spinning and Are You Listening?

"Raw and beautiful. A story that finds the tiny holes in your heart, tears them wide open, and puts in hope. Searle's art and mastery of the medium shines. I wish I had this book as a teen."
—Colleen AF Venable, author of Kiss Number 8

"Set in an era when landline phones were still in use, the story explores sexuality, mental health, and the messiness that goes with understanding of self in ways that will resonate with contemporary readers."—Kirkus

"An author’s note explains the balance of memoir and fiction, and the personal elements certainly render Winifred as a painfully realistic, relatable, and memorable character. Wordless panels carry the story, conveying despair or ebullience with gestures, tinting, and shadows." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Creators

The Greatest Thing

The Greatest Thing

$17.99