Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Stormrise

Stormrise

Jillian Boehme

Tor Teen

BUY THE BOOK

A combat warrior will risk everything to awaken the dragons and save her kingdom in Jillian Boehme's epic YA Fantasy debut, Stormrise, inspired by Twelfth Night and perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce.

If Rain weren’t a girl, she would be respected as a Neshu combat master. Instead, her gender dooms her to a colorless future. When an army of nomads invades her kingdom, and a draft forces every household to send one man to fight, Rain takes her chance to seize the life she wants.

Knowing she’ll be killed if she’s discovered, Rain purchases powder made from dragon magic that enables her to disguise herself as a boy. Then she hurries to the war camps, where she excels in her training—and wrestles with the voice that has taken shape inside her head. The voice of a dragon she never truly believed existed.

As war looms and Rain is enlisted into an elite, secret unit tasked with rescuing the High King, she begins to realize this dragon tincture may hold the key to her kingdom’s victory. For the dragons that once guarded her land have slumbered for centuries . . . and someone must awaken them to fight once more.

1


I assumed the second stance—legs spread, knees bent, back sword-straight—and wondered for the thousandth time if I looked anything like the son I should have been.

“Quiet your breathing, Rain.” Papa’s voice was...

Praise for Stormrise

“A bold girl, a kingdom under attack, magic everywhere—I devoured it in one sitting! This book is one wild ride!” —Tamora Pierce

“Stand aside, Daenerys Targaryen. Stormrise is a gorgeous, non-stop adventure that kept me turning the pages well into the night!” —Sarah Ahiers

"Captivating world-building and fantastical creatures . . . This lush, epic fantasy filled with magic and dragons will circulate well among fans of Tamora Pierce and J.R.R. Tolkien." —School Library Journal

"Debut author Boehme makes the story exciting: The world is well thought out, and the dragons are distinctive, with clear rules for magic that will draw readers in." —Kirkus Reviews

"Boehme’s debut, which borrows from Twelfth Night, is an adventure perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce. A good fit for any collection." —Booklist

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Jillian Boehme

JILLIAN BOEHME is known to the online writing community as Authoress, hostess of Miss Snark’s First Victim, a blog for aspiring authors. In real life, she holds a degree in Music Education, sings with the Nashville Symphony Chorus, and homeschools her remaining youngster-at-home. She’s still crazy in love with her husband of more than thirty years and is happy to be surrounded by family and friends amid the rolling knolls of Middle Tennessee. Stormrise is Boehme's debut novel.

image of Jillian Boehmeo
Jillian Boehme

LinkTree

Meet the Author

September 12, 2019

Meet debut novelist Jillian Boehm as she discusses her Twelfth Night-inspired young adult fantasy debut, Stormise.

READ THE FULL EXCERPT →

Tor Teen

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER