Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Spine of the Dragon

Spine of the Dragon

Wake the Dragon #1

Wake the Dragon (Volume 1)

Kevin J. Anderson

Tor Books


New York Times bestselling author Kevin J. Anderson triumphantly returns to epic fantasy with the Wake the Dragon series. Spine of the Dragon is a politically charged adventure of swords, sorcery, vengeance, and the rise of sleeping giants.

Two continents at war, the Three Kingdoms and Ishara, are divided by past bloodshed. When an outside threat arises—the reawakening of a powerful ancient race that wants to remake the world—the two warring nations must somehow set aside generational hatreds and form an alliance to fight their true enemy.


THE great dust storm prowled over the boundary mountains like a living thing. Brown and angry, the murk loomed in the sky as it approached the capital city of Bannriya from the west. On the high sandstone towers of the central...

Praise for Spine of the Dragon

“This epic fantasy takes readers on a sometimes brutal, often enthralling journey.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A brisk and engaging narrative.”—Booklist

“The pages turn almost by themselves, because you absolutely, categorically have to find out what happens next.”—Kirkus

“An epic fantasy that has all the complexity and depth of Dune.”—Nerd Alert News

“A beautifully written and gripping read.”—The American Conservative

“A must-read for any fantasy fan, brilliant and fabulous! One of the greatest talents writing today, Kevin J. Anderson is a master of adventures that are filled with dynamic, unforgettable characters.” —Sherrilyn Kenyon

“A fast-paced, enjoyable read. Concise description is paired with immediate action that plunges the reader irrevocably into a world teetering on the brink of a conflagration.” —Robin Hobb

“A setting so rich and detailed that the reader will suspend disbelief and actually be there.” —R.A. Salvatore

"Just what fantasy readers lust after—a complex and intricately detailed universe descending into a war. The details of this exotic world are exquisite. The sprawling cast of characters and creatures is fascinating. The action is terrifying. Let the mayhem begin.” —Terry Goodkind

“A hell of a kick-off to a new series.”—The NerdBlitz

Reviews from Goodreads

Kevin J. Anderson

KEVIN J. ANDERSON is the Number 1 international bestselling author of more than 140 books, 56 of which have appeared on national or international bestseller lists. His 140 novels have 23 million copies in print in thirty languages. He has won or been nominated for the Nebula Award, Hugo Award, Bram Stoker Award, and many others.

Kevin is the author of the Saga of Shadows novels (The Dark Between the Stars, Blood of the Cosmos, Eternity's Mind) and coauthor (with Brian Herbert) of the Dune series (Navigators of Dune, Mentats of Dune, Sisterhood of Dune).

image of Kevin J. Andersono
Photo provided by author


    Latest on Facebook


    Tor Books

    Latest on Facebook