Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Trapper's Moon

Trapper's Moon

A Buckskinners Novel

Buckskinner (Volume 2)

Jory Sherman

Forge Books


Mass Market Paperbound

Two rugged Mountain Men face the brutal violence in the High Rockies in Jory Sherman's Trapper's Moon, the second Buckskinner western novel featuring Lem Hawke.

Mountain Men Lemuel and Morgan Hawke have known violence back east, but nothing like the bloody brutality they will face in the rich, fur-trapping forests of the High Rockies. Not only must they battle rivers at flood and freezing blizzards, they will confront the menace of evil men, murderous fur traders who will kill them for their boots—hell, for the heels—as well as deadly warriors, who are desperate to drive them from their lands. The two Mountain Men have entered a world of unparalleled bloodshed, where only the strongest survive and the weak inevitably perish.

Will the two Mountain Men be tough enough to survive the killing ground of the High Rockies and return to civilization with their fortune in furs? Or will they too leave their bones and blood in that frontier wilderness?

Praise for Trapper's Moon

“Sherman is a national treasure.” —Loren D. Estleman, award-winning author

“To read the poetry of [Sherman’s] prose is to be transported bodily to the wind-lashed plains and blue-iced peaks of Sherman country.” —Loren D. Estleman, award-winning author of The Long High Noon

“A highly skilled, always dependable storyteller.” —El Paso Herald-Post

“Among. . . novelists of the Old American West, Jory Sherman has no peer for powerful, poetic storytelling.” —Dale Walker, Rocky Mountain News

“A vigorous look at the world of the mountain men of the Old West.” —Publishers Weekly


Reviews from Goodreads

Jory Sherman

Jory Sherman wrote more than 400 books, many of them set in the American West, as well as poetry, articles, and essays. His best-known works may be the Spur Award-winning The Medicine Horn, first in the Buckskinner series, and Grass Kingdom, part of the Barons of Texas series. Sherman won the Owen Wister Award for Lifetime Contributions to Western Literature from the Western Writers of America. He died in 2014.

image of Jory Shermano
Joe Jones

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook