Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Bannack: A Barnaby Skye Novel

Bannack: A Barnaby Skye Novel

Skye's West (Volume 2)

Richard S. Wheeler

Forge Books


Mass Market Paperbound

Bannack is the third novel in the acclaimed Skye’s West series following mountain man Barnaby Skye, from six-time Spur Award-winning author Richard S. Wheeler

If Barnaby Skye had not wanted the new Henry repeating rifle so badly, he would have thought more than twice about leading this particular group of pilgrims from Ft. Laramie into the new Idaho territory. The company includes Alvah Riddle, marriage broker, escorting three mail-order brides; Goldtooth Joyce and other sporting women from a house in Memphis, looking to get rich quick; Blueberry Hill, runaway slave and piano player; and the man calling himself Cornelius Vanderbilt – a gambling man with a fixed deck and hidden guns.

Even before the trip began, Skye knew this group would be trouble. Then came the deserters, the flash flood, and the village of Old Bull. And after that, things got bad…

Praise for Bannack: A Barnaby Skye Novel

“A promising start in what appears to be an absorbing, authoritative series.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Wheeler is a master storyteller whose many tales of the Westerward movement...deftly weave fact, fiction, and folklore into pure entertainment.” —Library Journal

“No one does it better than Wheeler… an extraordinary writer.” —The Round-Up Quarterly


Reviews from Goodreads

Richard S. Wheeler

RICHARD S. WHEELER is the author of more than fifty novels of the American West. He holds six Spur Awards (for Fool's Coach, Sierra, Masterson, Drum's Ring, Vengeance Valley, and The Canyon of Bones) and the Owen Wister Award for lifetime contribution to the literature of the West. He makes his home in Livingston, Montana, near Yellowstone National Park.

image of Richard S. Wheelero
Larry Mayer

Richard S. Wheeler

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook