Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Granite Coast Murders

The Granite Coast Murders

A Brittany Mystery

Brittany Mystery Series (Volume 6)

Jean-Luc Bannalec

Minotaur Books

BUY THE BOOK

In the sixth installment of Jean-Luc Bannalec's bestselling mystery series, Commissaire Dupin returns to investigate a murder at a gorgeous Brittany beach resort.

Inspector Dupin and Claire are on a two-week vacation, but while Claire seems to enjoy the quiet of the beach, Commissaire Dupin takes every opportunity to leave the beach towel. The fabulous dinners on the hotel patio and the rumors about a stolen statue of a saint are the few interesting moments of his days on vacation. But then a tourist vanishes without trace and there’s an attack on a deputy to the local assembly, who is involved in confrontations with local farmers. Shortly after that, the Britanny beach resort is shocked by the discovery of a corpse.

Dupin clandestinely begins to investigate with the help of the local villagers, something he must keep a secret from Claire and his colleagues in Concarneau. Between bewitched valleys and beautiful beaches, an unfathomable case develops.

Sunday


The Witch, the Turtle, the Painter’s Palette, the Chaos, the Skull. You didn’t have to be a Breton with particularly spectacular imagination to recognize them. The same went for the Devil’s Castle, the Shark’s Fin, the...

Praise for The Granite Coast Murders

"Series fans will enjoy seeing Dupin’s relationship with Claire deepen. Armchair travelers and gourmands alike will appreciate visiting this region of Brittany."—Publishers Weekly

"The huge, variegated pink granite formations surrounding a beach resort in northern Brittany provide haunting atmosphere and a gripping climax to this sixth Brittany mystery starring Georges Dupin. The plot ticks along nicely, aided and abetted by Bannalec’s tantalizing descriptions of Dupin and Claire’s sightseeing and feasting. Bannalec’s mysteries are both well crafted and impossible to read without wanting to use them as guides for future trips to the region."--Booklist (starred review)

“Unsolved crimes and a restless policeman turn out to be excellent holiday companions in Brittany… Between the food, the scenery, and the felonies, what’s not to like?”--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The descriptions of Brittany are mesmerizing. It has been elevated into my top 10 places I need to visit, all thanks to Bannalec.”--BookPage (starred review)

"Clever and amusing...a delightful novel that effortlessly transports readers to the astoundingly beautiful Pink Granite Coast. Perfect for fans of Louise Penny or Mark Pryor...not to be missed."--Shelf Awareness


Praise for the series:

"Delicious Brittany mysteries... If this isn't heaven, it's close enough." —The New York Times

"Francophiles and art lovers will welcome Bannalec’s good old-fashioned detective story set in Brittany.… More…

"Series fans will enjoy seeing Dupin’s relationship with Claire deepen. Armchair travelers and gourmands alike will appreciate visiting this region of Brittany."—Publishers Weekly

"The huge, variegated pink granite formations surrounding a beach resort in northern Brittany provide haunting atmosphere and a gripping climax to this sixth Brittany mystery starring Georges Dupin. The plot ticks along nicely, aided and abetted by Bannalec’s tantalizing descriptions of Dupin and Claire’s sightseeing and feasting. Bannalec’s mysteries are both well crafted and impossible to read without wanting to use them as guides for future trips to the region."--Booklist (starred review)

“Unsolved crimes and a restless policeman turn out to be excellent holiday companions in Brittany… Between the food, the scenery, and the felonies, what’s not to like?”--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The descriptions of Brittany are mesmerizing. It has been elevated into my top 10 places I need to visit, all thanks to Bannalec.”--BookPage (starred review)

"Clever and amusing...a delightful novel that effortlessly transports readers to the astoundingly beautiful Pink Granite Coast. Perfect for fans of Louise Penny or Mark Pryor...not to be missed."--Shelf Awareness


Praise for the series:

"Delicious Brittany mysteries... If this isn't heaven, it's close enough." —The New York Times

"Francophiles and art lovers will welcome Bannalec’s good old-fashioned detective story set in Brittany... Bannalec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside." —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on Death in Brittany

"Very satisfying…along the lines of Martin Walker’s novels set in Dordogne, or M.L. Longworth’s Aix-en-Provence mysteries." —Booklist on Murder on Brittany Shores

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Jean-Luc Bannalec

Internationally bestselling author JEAN-LUC BANNALEC lives in Germany and the southerly region of the French département of Finistère. In 2016 he was given the award ‘Mécène de Bretagne’. Since 2018 he has been an honorary member of the Académie littéraire de Bretagne. He is also the author of Death in Brittany, Murder on Brittany Shores, The Fleur de Sel Murders, The Missing Corpse, and The Killing Tide.

Jean-Luc Bannalec

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER