Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Cowboy Way

The Cowboy Way

Stories of the Old West

Elmer Kelton

Forge Books


No one writes the old west like Seven-time Spur Award-winning author Elmer Kelton. In The Cowboy Way, Kelton captures the action, adventure, brotherhood and betrayal of the old west, chronicling the highs and lows of cowboy life in these sixteen stories, collected together for the first time.


Chuckwagon cooks were expected to be contrary. It was part of their image, their defense mechanism against upstart young cowpunchers who might challenge their authority to rule their Dutch-oven kingdoms fifty...

Praise for The Cowboy Way

Praise for The Cowboy Way

“Texas as a myth looms large in the American psyche. The late Kelton perfected that myth... the storylines vary, each one is tinged with nostalgia—which might be exactly what readers are looking for from such a timeless author.”

Praise for Elmer Kelton

“One of the best.”
The New York Times

“You can never go wrong if .. . you pick up a title by Elmer Kelton.”
American Cowboy

“One of the greatest and most gifted of Western writers.”
—Historical Novel Society

“One of America’s premier Western writers.”
The Dallas Morning News


Reviews from Goodreads

Elmer Kelton

ELMER KELTON (1926-2009) was the seven-time Spur Award-winning author of more than forty novels, including the Texas Rangers series, the Hewey Calloway series, and the Buckalew Family series. He was also the recipient of the Owen Wister Lifetime Achievement award. In addition to his novels, Kelton worked as an agricultural journalist for forty-two years, and served in the infantry in World War II. He passed away in 2009.

image of Elmer Keltono
Jim Bean Professional Photography

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook