Book details

The Mother-in-Law

A Novel

Author: Sally Hepworth

The Mother-in-Law

The Mother-in-Law

About This Book

Exquisitely polite and friendly, Lucy's mother-in-law Diana has nonetheless always kept her at arm's length. Now, Diana is suddenly dead, a suicide note found near her body claiming a cancer that the autopsy report says doesn't exist, and Lucy finds herself in the center of a murder investigation.
Page Count
384
On Sale
03/30/2021

Book Details

Sally Hepworth's The Mother-in-Law is a twisty, compelling novel about one woman's complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in murder…

Imprint Publisher

St. Martin's Paperbacks

ISBN

9781250783431

Reading Guide

In The News

Praise for The Mother-in-Law:

One of:
People Magazine's
"People Pick"
PopSugar's "30 Must-Read Books of 2019"
Bustle's "Best Books of April"
Refinery29's "Best Books of April 2019"
Oprah Magazine's "15 Best Beach Reads of the Year So Far"

"A deliciously entertaining novel about one woman's complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in death. This one is perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." —Good Morning America

“Sally Hepworth writes characters you love.” —Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of Big Little Lies

“Deliciously entertaining, packed with wit and suspense, and also delivers sharp insights about family dynamics and love.” —People magazine

"A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences...a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott." —Booklist, starred review

"A mesmerizing domestic mystery." —Kirkus

"This one will keep you guessing until the very end."Us Weekly

"Hepworth’s short, punchy chapters keep the pages quickly turning while effortlessly deepening her characters. Readers will race to the end of this clever novel to find the truth." —Publishers Weekly

"Behold: the book that'll make your subway ride an actual enjoyable experience! This suspenseful thriller is impossible to put down."Cosmo

“We devoured it in just one sitting. Bet you will too!” —Woman's Day

"At last, sticky in-law tension gets the chilly thriller treatment. In Hepworth’s anticipated new page-turner, one woman’s complex relationship with her mother-in-law ends in death." —Entertainment Weekly

"Get ready for the kind of Gone Girl-level twists you may have fantasized about during awkward holiday gatherings." —Refinery29

"A delightfully twisty domestic suspense novel...fans of Big Little Lies and Then She Was Gone will love the startling end." —Shelf Awareness

"The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced." —Kelly Rimmer, USA Today bestselling author of Me Without You

"Absolutely stunning. The Mother-in-Law has so many layers - I'll be thinking about it for a long time." —Heather Gudenkauf, NYT bestselling author

About the Creators

The Mother-in-Law

The Mother-in-Law