Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

Surviving the Wild: Sunny the Shark

Surviving the Wild

Author: Remy Lai

Surviving the Wild: Sunny the Shark

Surviving the Wild: Sunny the Shark

$13.99

Hardcover

About This Book

Planet Earth meets Narwhal and Jelly in this funny and suspenseful early reader graphic novel series featuring heroic animals surviving in the perilous wilderness! Inspired...

Page Count
112
On Sale
08/09/2022

Book Details

Planet Earth meets Narwhal and Jelly in this funny and suspenseful early reader graphic novel series featuring heroic animals surviving in the perilous wilderness! Inspired by true events, the story includes facts about climate change, sharks, and how kids can help protect the environment.

"A heartening and pensive story, told through irresistibly charming art, Star the Elephant is an utter delight." —John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling creator of InvestiGators, on Star the Elephant

Sunny the Shark is a fearsome predator. As the oceanic whitetip shark searches for her next meal, a chatty school of pilot fish trails behind, cleaning her in exchange for food crumbs. But when Sunny mistakes a plastic ring for prey and it gets caught around her fin, she soon struggles to hunt. Will she be able to break free and find food before winter sets in?

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN

9781250785459

In The News

Advance Praise for Surviving the Wild

"A heartening and pensive story, told through irresistibly charming art, Star the Elephant is an utter delight." —John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling creator of InvestiGators, on Star the Elephant

"Gorgeously drawn and bursting with charm, adventure, and tenderness. . . Star the Elephant is a pure delight for young readers." —Jonathan Stutzman, author of Llama Destroys the World, on Star the Elephant

Praise for Pawcasso

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author

"A beautifully drawn and delightful story bursting with art, books, and fun!" —Maria Scrivan, New York Times bestselling author

Fly on the Wall


A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, Chicago Public Library, and School Library Journal!

“Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn’t a bad thing.” —Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

"Bright, funny storytelling . . . in this sharp, sweet story there is much to connect with." —The New York Times Book Review

* "Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound, which will endear it to readers who like 'Big Nate' and 'Wimpy Kid.'" —SLJ, starred review

* "A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser." —Booklist, starred review

Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor!

Named a Best Book of the Year by Parents Magazine, NPR, NYPL, CPL, BookRiot, Horn Book, and Kirkus! An Indie Next pick!

"Heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." —Shelf Awareness, starred review

* "The perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." —SLJ, starred review

"[A] stunning debut." —NPR

About the Creators

Surviving the Wild: Sunny the Shark

Surviving the Wild: Sunny the Shark

$13.99

Hardcover