Book details

The Salt-Black Tree

The Dead God's Heart (Volume 2)

Author: Lilith Saintcrow

The Salt-Black Tree

The Salt-Black Tree

About This Book

What happens when you find a way to save your loved one… but the price might not be worth it—the stunning conclusion to New York Times bestseller Lilith Saintcrow’s The Dead...

Page Count
288
Genre
On Sale
08/08/2023

Book Details

What happens when you find a way to save your loved one… but the price might not be worth it—the stunning conclusion to New York Times bestseller Lilith Saintcrow’s The Dead God’s Heart

Nat Drozdova has crossed half the continent in search of the stolen Dead God’s Heart, the only thing powerful enough to trade for her beautiful, voracious, dying mother’s life. Yet now she knows the secret of her own birth—and that she’s been lied to all her young life.

The road to the Heart ends at the Salt-Black Tree, but to find it Nat must pay a deadly price. Pursued by mouthless shadows hungry for the blood of new divinity as well as the razor-wielding god of thieves, Nat is on her own. Her journey leads through a wilderness of gods old and new, across a country as restless as its mortal inhabitants, and it’s too late to back out now.

Blood may not always prevail. Magic might not always work. And the young Drozdova is faced with an impossible choice: Save her mother’s very existence…

…or accept the consequences of her own.

Imprint Publisher

Tor Books

ISBN

9781250791566

In The News

Praise for Lilith Saintcrow

"Incredibly timely, well written and important.... A testament to Saintcrow's skill." -Los Angeles Times on Afterwar

"Saintcrow scores a hit... Genius and a rocking good time." –New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs on The Iron Wyrm Affair

"Saintcrow's rough, rawboned prose paints a world not on the edge, but already over it, revealing an alternate history of America that is achingly relevant to the America in which we live. Simply put, Saintcrow doesn't f*** around." -Chuck Wendig on Afterwar

“Saintcrow knows how to keep the pages turning” ­–Starburst on the Dante Valentine series

"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch." –Publishers Weekly *starred review* on The Iron Wyrm Affair

"If anyone asks whether science fiction can be relevant, point them to Afterwar." -Kirkus

"Not a story for the faint of heart, Lilith Saintcrow's latest novel plays on the darkest elements of current American culture, and flashes an unmistakable warning about a potential future ruled by xenophobia and white supremacy.... Startlingly prescient." -RT Book Reviews on Afterwar

“Afterwar is a punch in the gut, nauseatingly compelling in its emotional realism. As well as compelling as a story: well-paced, strikingly well-characterised, and deftly written, Afterwar is a deeply accomplished novel.” –Tor.com

"Fast paced and full of plot twists, this is a lightweight summer read for fans of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brooks." –Booklist on The Iron Wyrm Affair

About the Creators

The Salt-Black Tree

The Salt-Black Tree