Book details

Spring's Arcana

The Dead God's Heart (Volume 1)

Author: Lilith Saintcrow

Spring's Arcana

Spring's Arcana

About This Book

American Gods vs. Baba Yaga in this Russian-inspired contemporary fantasy Spring's Arcana, by New York Times bestseller Lilith Saintcrow.

Nat...

Page Count
368
Genre
On Sale
05/02/2023

Book Details

American Gods vs. Baba Yaga in this Russian-inspired contemporary fantasy Spring's Arcana, by New York Times bestseller Lilith Saintcrow.

Nat Drozdova is desperate to save a life. Doctors can do little for her cancer-ridden mother, who insists there is only one cure—and that Nat must visit a skyscraper in Manhattan to get it.

Amid a snow-locked city, inside a sleek glass-walled office, Nat makes her plea and is whisked into a terrifying new world. For the skyscraper holds a hungry winter goddess who has the power to cure her mother…if Nat finds a stolen object of great power.

Now Nat must travel with a razor-wielding assassin across an American continent brimming with terror, wonder, and hungry divinities with every reason to consume a young woman. For her ailing mother is indeed suffering no ordinary illness, and Nat Drozdova is no ordinary girl. Blood calls to blood, magic to magic, and a daughter may indeed save what she loves...

…if it doesn’t consume her first.

This is the way to the Dead God’s Heart.

Imprint Publisher

Tor Books

ISBN

9781250791658

In The News

Praise for Lilith Saintcrow

"Incredibly timely, well written and important.... A testament to Saintcrow's skill." -Los Angeles Times on Afterwar

"Saintcrow scores a hit... Genius and a rocking good time." –New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs on The Iron Wyrm Affair

"Saintcrow's rough, rawboned prose paints a world not on the edge, but already over it, revealing an alternate history of America that is achingly relevant to the America in which we live. Simply put, Saintcrow doesn't f*** around." -Chuck Wendig on Afterwar

“Saintcrow knows how to keep the pages turning” ­–Starburst on the Dante Valentine series

"Sensual writing, intricate plotting, and sympathetically quirky, satisfyingly competent characters make this series one to watch." –Publishers Weekly *starred review* on The Iron Wyrm Affair

"If anyone asks whether science fiction can be relevant, point them to Afterwar." -Kirkus

"Not a story for the faint of heart, Lilith Saintcrow's latest novel plays on the darkest elements of current American culture, and flashes an unmistakable warning about a potential future ruled by xenophobia and white supremacy.... Startlingly prescient." -RT Book Reviews on Afterwar

“Afterwar is a punch in the gut, nauseatingly compelling in its emotional realism. As well as compelling as a story: well-paced, strikingly well-characterised, and deftly written, Afterwar is a deeply accomplished novel.” –Tor.com

"Fast paced and full of plot twists, this is a lightweight summer read for fans of Gail Carriger and Meljean Brooks." –Booklist on The Iron Wyrm Affair

About the Creators

Spring's Arcana

Spring's Arcana