Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

Down Comes the Night

A Novel

Author: Allison Saft; read by Saskia Maarleveld

Down Comes the Night

Down Comes the Night

$26.99

About This Book

"Narrator Saskia Maarleveld displays impressive vocal versatility in this gentle fantasy...Maarleveld captures each character and immerses listeners in the gothic setting of the sinister...

Genre
On Sale
03/02/2021

Book Details

"Narrator Saskia Maarleveld displays impressive vocal versatility in this gentle fantasy...Maarleveld captures each character and immerses listeners in the gothic setting of the sinister manor. Her intensifying pace and warm tone perfectly express the slow-burn romance that blooms between Wren and Hal as they work together to save their kingdoms." -- AudioFile Magazine, Earphones Award winner

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness.


Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she's been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend—the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate, Colwick Hall, to cure his servant from a mysterious illness, she seizes her chance to redeem herself.

The mansion is crumbling, icy winds haunt the caved-in halls, and her eccentric host forbids her from leaving her room after dark. Worse, Wren’s patient isn’t a servant at all but Hal Cavendish, the infamous Reaper of Vesria and her kingdom’s sworn enemy. Hal also came to Colwick Hall for redemption, but the secrets in the estate may lead to both of their deaths.

With sinister forces at work, Wren and Hal realize they’ll have to join together if they have any hope of saving their kingdoms. But as Wren circles closer to the nefarious truth behind Hal’s illness, they realize they have no escape from the monsters within the mansion. All they have is each other, and a startling desire that could be their downfall.

Allison Saft’s Down Comes the Night is a snow-drenched romantic fantasy that keeps you racing through the chapters long into the night.

Love makes monsters of us all

A Macmillan Audio production from Wednesday Books

"A YA fantasy classic in the making." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s “Grisha Trilogy” and Marie Rutkoski’s “Winner’s Trilogy” have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance." - School Library Journal (Starred Review)

Imprint Publisher

Macmillan Young Listeners

ISBN

9781250792273

In The News

"Complex, carefully rendered, and utterly addictive, Down Comes the Night is a YA fantasy classic in the making. Saft seamlessly blends an utterly original magic system, multifacted main characters, and forbidden romance into a gothic narrative that will stay with you long after the last page." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"Down Comes the Night is a twisty dark ride through a gothic world that‘ll keep you up all night. Saft has crafted a deeply romantic tale with fresh magic and mystery on every page, and filled with an arresting cast. An engrossing, haunting, and beautiful addition to the YA shelf." - Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight

About the Creators

Down Comes the Night

Down Comes the Night

$26.99