Book details

This Vicious Grace

A Novel

The Last Finestra (Volume 1)

Author: Emily Thiede

This Vicious Grace

This Vicious Grace

About This Book

"One of the best fantasies of the year." - Buzzfeed

"Riveting, passionate, and full of high stakes danger." —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times...

Page Count
448
Genre
On Sale
06/28/2022
Age Range
13-18

Book Details

"One of the best fantasies of the year." - Buzzfeed

"Riveting, passionate, and full of high stakes danger." —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author


Emily Thiede's exciting fantasy debut, This Vicious Grace, will keep readers turning the pages until the devastating conclusion and leave them primed for more!

Three weddings. Three funerals. Alessa’s gift from the gods is supposed to magnify a partner’s magic, not kill every suitor she touches.

Now, with only weeks left until a hungry swarm of demons devours everything on her island home, Alessa is running out of time to find a partner and stop the invasion. When a powerful priest convinces the faithful that killing Alessa is the island’s only hope, her own soldiers try to assassinate her.

Desperate to survive, Alessa hires Dante, a cynical outcast marked as a killer, to become her personal bodyguard. But as rebellion explodes outside the gates, Dante’s dark secrets may be the biggest betrayal. He holds the key to her survival and her heart, but is he the one person who can help her master her gift or destroy her once and for all?

"Remixing all the best parts of a dark fantasy and a romantic comedy, This Vicious Grace is a wonderfully fun time from start to finish, with lush, complex worldbuilding, intensely relatable characters, and relationships that are easy to root for." —Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For The Wolf

Imprint Publisher

Wednesday Books

ISBN

9781250794055

In The News

A Summer 2022 Kids’ Indie Next Pick

Epic Reads, "The 21 Most Anticipated YA Books to Read in June"

Frolic, "Our Top 10 YA Reads for June"

Goodreads, "The 68 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2022" and "The Can't-Hardly-Wait Young Adult Books of June"

Gizmodo, "58 New Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Horror Books for Your Summer Reading Pleasure"

Nerd Daily, " Upcoming YA Book Releases to Add to Your TBR" and "24 Debut Releases To Get Your Hands On In 2022"

PopSugar, "Books by Women Writers Are Absolute Must Reads in 2022"

Nerdist, "13 Brilliant Books to Bring You Joy This June"

United by Pop, "Exciting New YA Reads For June 2022"

"One of the best fantasies of the year." - Buzzfeed

“With masterful world-building and endearing characters, This Vicious Grace is a stunning YA fantasy that will leave the reader breathless. Highly recommend for fans of Dance of Thieves, The Tiger at Midnight, and The Shadows Between Us.” - Young Adult Books Central

“This Vicious Grace melds two of our favorite things: slow burn romance and mythological reimaginings. Flipping through the pages feels like a sweltering European vacation and that’s before we get to the bodyguard trope in the form of hunky love interest Dante. [A] delightful debut.” - Nerdist

"Readers will be drawn to Alessa’s kind and independent spirit as she grapples with duty versus agency, love and betrayal—all situated within a well-crafted world. An eerie, magic-infused debut." - Booklist

"...a near-perfect blend of fantasy romance magic, one that will leave readers both thoroughly satisfied and eager for a sequel...A lush setting sprinkled with an irresistible Italian flavor and worldbuilding that hints at much more historical and political depth than we’re allowed to see on the page, This Vicious Grace is effortlessly romantic, thrillingly immersive, and more than worth your time this summer." - Paste Magazine

"Quick witted and action packed with a bodyguard romance that’s equally as supportive and warm as it is angsty and fun, This Vicious Grace... is about to become your newest YA fantasy obsession." - United by Pop

"If you are a fan of dark fantasy and romantic comedies, then This Vicious Grace might be the perfect book for you!" - Her Campus

"Thiede's mesmerizing debut weaves political intrigue, power struggles, and faith with intense romance in this immersive series opener." - Publishers Weekly

"Thiede’s dramatic and fantastical debut is artfully colored with Italian-inspired lore." - Kirkus Reviews

"This Vicious Grace is a luminescent fantasy with impeccable worldbuilding (an immersive Italian-inspired shoreline setting), a delightfully sharp-witted cast and a ravishingly provocative romance. This Vicious Grace is impossible to forget--a superb and captivating YA fantasy with wit, charm and a romance readers will swoon over." - Shelf Awareness

"A tense, beautifully written story of power, disability and guilt...If you want a rich, poetic page turner for the summer, look here." - The Seattle Times

"An Italian-infused debut novel recommended for collections where fantasy is popular. Thiede creates an array of dynamic characters and a suspenseful story that will leave readers ready for the next installment." - School Library Journal

"Gorgeously atmospheric and effortlessly romantic, This Vicious Grace is a high stakes story with a central duo you truly miss when the book ends. If the thrilling climatic battle between the book’s heroes and the demons is anything to go by, Emily Thiede has much more up her sleeve than a heart-fluttering romance between a saviour and her bodyguard. And the surprise revelation at the end suggests we should be very excited about the sequel." - Culturefly (UK)

"This book is incredible! The banter, the romance, the tension! I couldn't get enough!" - Lauren Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author of Within These Wicked Walls

"Filled with witty banter, unlikely friendships, a swoon-worthy romance, and high stakes tension, Emily Thiede creates an immersive fantasy world inspired by the sun-drenched Amalfi coast that will captivate readers until the very last page. Sure to be a favourite for fans of Stephanie Garber, Leigh Bargudo, and Kerri Maniscalco." - Lyndall Clipstone, author of Lakesedge

"A richly imagined world featuring a slow burn, sizzling romance and a conflict that crackles with magic." - Elle Cosimano, award-winning author of Seasons of the Storm

"A remarkably fresh debut, This Vicious Grace is an absolute delight from cover to cover. Its rich, transportive world sparkles on every page, and I was spirited away by Thiede’s beautifully rendered cast. I would follow Alessa and Dante anywhere, and can’t wait for their next adventure." - Ayana Gray, New York Times bestselling author of Beasts of Prey

"From the lush setting to dire stakes and whip-smart banter, This Vicious Grace is romantic, suspenseful, and utterly unforgettable." - Sarah Glenn Marsh, author of the Reign of the Fallen series

"Riveting, passionate, and full of high stakes danger." - Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

"The perfect blend of humor and heart, This Vicious Grace is a high-stakes romp that brims with deadly magic, sparkling chemistry, and the deep yearning for connection in an alienating world. Prepare to fall head-over-heels with Alessa and Dante!" - Allison Saft, New York Times bestselling author of A Far Wilder Magic

"Remixing all the best parts of a dark fantasy and a romantic comedy, This Vicious Grace is a wonderfully fun time from start to finish, with lush, complex worldbuilding, intensely relatable characters, and relationships that are easy to root for." - Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For The Wolf

About the Creators

This Vicious Grace

This Vicious Grace

This Vicious Grace
This Vicious Grace
00:00
/
00:00