Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

A Field Guide to Mermaids

Author: Emily B. Martin

A Field Guide to Mermaids

A Field Guide to Mermaids

$13.99

About This Book

A magical and lushly illustrated field guide to the mermaids that inhabit our ponds, streams and oceans, based on real ecological details—with a strong environmental focus—perfect for...

Page Count
144
On Sale
09/27/2022
Age Range
8-12

Book Details

A magical and lushly illustrated field guide to the mermaids that inhabit our ponds, streams and oceans, based on real ecological details—with a strong environmental focus—perfect for fans of The Magical Unicorn Society series.

A glimmer of fish scales.
A splash from a colorful fin.
The echo of a mysterious song across the water. . .


Few mythical creatures are more instantly recognizable or more mysterious than mermaids. Whether seen perched on a rock at the water’s edge or spied only as a dim outline beneath the waves, mermaids have long fascinated sailors, scientists, storytellers, and surprised onlookers alike.

Now, for the first time, thanks to dedicated research and a hint of magic, comes A Field Guide to Mermaids, introducing the many species of mermaids native to the United States. With an eye toward the preservation of our natural habitats, Emily B. Martin shares the never-before-told stories of the mermaids who share our waters in this enchanting and beautifully illustrated guidebook.

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN

9781250794321

In The News

"Definitively making the point that mermaids can be found anywhere there is water—even a little, or for a little while—Martin depicts dozens of types, each linked to a specific (real) locale and arranged by their favored habitats, from deep ocean abyssal zones to shallow desert pools, hot springs to swimming pools. . .Moreover, enlightening discussions of mermaid behaviors and environmental concerns mingle with general questions and activities suitable for any encounters with nature . . . An indispensable, encyclopedic resource for nature quests—mythological or otherwise." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

About the Creators

A Field Guide to Mermaids

A Field Guide to Mermaids

$13.99