Book details

This May End Badly

Author: Samantha Markum

This May End Badly

This May End Badly

$18.99

About This Book

“The bitingly hilarious, heartfelt This May End Badly takes your favorite fake dating trope and adds plenty of downright delightful shenanigans that’ll have readers tearing through...

Page Count
384
Genre
On Sale
04/12/2022

Book Details

“The bitingly hilarious, heartfelt This May End Badly takes your favorite fake dating trope and adds plenty of downright delightful shenanigans that’ll have readers tearing through the pages.” - Emma Lord, New York Times bestselling author of You Have a Match

Pranking mastermind Doe and her motley band of Weston girls are determined to win the century-long war against Winfield Academy before the clock ticks down on their senior year. But when their headmistress announces that The Weston School will merge with its rival the following year, their longtime feud spirals into chaos.

To protect the school that has been her safe haven since her parents’ divorce, Doe puts together a plan to prove once and for all that Winfield boys and Weston girls just don’t mix, starting with a direct hit at Three, Winfield’s boy king and her nemesis. In a desperate move to win, Doe strikes a bargain with Three’s cousin, Wells: If he fake dates her to get under Three’s skin, she’ll help him get back his rightful family heirloom from Three.

As the pranks escalate, so do her feelings for her fake boyfriend, and Doe spins lie after lie to keep up her end of the deal. But when a teacher long suspected of inappropriate behavior messes with a younger Weston girl, Doe has to decide what’s more important: winning a rivalry, or joining forces to protect something far more critical than a prank war legacy.

This May End Badly is a story about friendship, falling in love, and crossing pretty much every line presented to you—and how to atone when you do.

Imprint Publisher

Wednesday Books

ISBN

9781250799180

In The News

Goodreads, "The 68 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2022"

Frolic, "Upcoming Fake Dating Romances To Read in 2021"

Nerd Daily, "Upcoming YA Book Releases to Add to Your TBR"

"Lots of fun and romance undergirded by relevant, timely substance." - Kirkus Reviews

“The bitingly hilarious, heartfelt This May End Badly takes your favorite fake dating trope and adds plenty of downright delightful shenanigans that’ll have readers tearing through the pages. If you’re looking for a ship to root for, then jump aboard, mateys.” - Emma Lord, New York Times bestselling author of You Have a Match

“Markum takes no prisoners in this stunning debut about fighting for what’s right, even if it means growing up… a little.” - Ashley Schumacher, author of Indie Next pick, Amelia Unabridged and Full Flight

"Funny, charming, real... Set in a prep school during senior year, this debut tackles it all: feminism, college applications, kissing your fake boyfriend, friendship changes, and ultimately figuring out what you want your legacy to be...without losing who you are at your core. This May End Badly feels like a fresh, feminist take on Looking for Alaska, and perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Ally Carter. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVED IT." - Rachel Simon, youth services librarian, Newton Free Library, Newton MA

"I haven't had that much fun reading a book in a long while. Whip smart and at times laugh out loud funny and emotional, the dialogue is beyond amazing. Doe's dedication to one of only place she feels safe was so powerful and the whole girl gang was outstanding! The way both schools unite to support each other at the end to protect future girls? Perfection. Change is hard and often painful and the way Doe experiences and comes to terms with it was touching and real." - Mike Lasagna, bookseller, Barnes & Noble

About the Creators

This May End Badly

This May End Badly

$18.99