Book details

Where Sleeping Girls Lie

Author: Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Where Sleeping Girls Lie

Where Sleeping Girls Lie

About This Book

In Where Sleeping Girls Lie — a YA contemporary mystery by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé, the New York Times-bestselling author of Ace of Spades a girl new to boarding school discovers dark secrets and coverups after her roommate disappears.
Page Count
416
Genre
On Sale
03/19/2024
Age Range
14-18

Book Details

In Where Sleeping Girls Lie — a YA contemporary mystery by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé, the New York Times-bestselling author of Ace of Spades a girl new to boarding school discovers dark secrets and coverups after her roommate disappears.

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2024 by Cosmopolitan, Entertainment Weekly, Goodreads, The Nerds Daily, She Reads, and so much more!

It’s like I keep stumbling into a dark room, searching for the switch to make things bright again...


Sade Hussein is starting her third year of high school, this time at the prestigious Alfred Nobel Academy boarding school, after being home-schooled. Misfortune has been a constant companion throughout her life, but even Sade doesn’t expect her new roommate, Elizabeth, to disappear after Sade’s first night. Or for people to think she had something to do with it.

With rumors swirling around her, Sade catches the attention of the girls collectively known as the Unholy Trinity and they bring her into their fold. Between learning more about them—especially Persephone, who Sade is inexplicably drawn to—and playing catchup in class, Sade already has so much on her plate. But when it seems people don't care enough about what happened to Elizabeth, it's up to her and Elizabeth's best friend, Baz, to investigate.

And then a student is found dead.

As Sade and Baz keep trying to figure out what’s going on, Sade realizes there’s more to Alfred Nobel Academy and its students than she thought. Secrets lurk around every corner and beneath every surface…Secrets that rival even her own.

Imprint Publisher

Feiwel & Friends

ISBN

9781250800848

In The News

"Àbíké-Íyímídé (Ace of Spades) presents a powerful look at grief, rape culture, and moving on from loss in this exquisitely crafted paranormal mystery." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Where Sleeping Girls Lie is a beautifully written coming-of-age mystery that should appeal to fans of Tiffany Jackson, Kara Thomas, and Jumata Emill." —Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Àbíké-Íyímídé’s sophomore novel captures the spirit of dark academia. . ." —Booklist

"Sade is an easy protagonist to root for. . . the portrayal of kids fighting back against an old-guard, damaging system makes for an undeniably empowering read." —BCCB

"A boarding school mystery that tackles fresh topics. . . " —Kirkus

Enthralling from the very first page, WHERE SLEEPING GIRLS LIE sinks you into a world flooded with deception and secrets. Unexpected but utterly earned twists and turns lead Sade deeper into this mystery, pulling the reader right alongside her. Àbíké-Íyímídé has expertly constructed a thrilling story anchored by pain and kept afloat by hope.” —Racquel Marie, author of Ophelia After All

A harrowing mystery about a school festering with rot and a girl ready to walk right into its ugliest depths, with twists that made me gasp out loud. Àbíké-Íyímídé is back with a knife-sharp novel pointed right at the heart of society’s darkest corners.” —Andrew Joseph White, NY Times bestselling author of Hell Followed With Us and The Spirit Bears Its Teeth

"Flawless mystery. Where Sleeping Girls Lie builds with riveting intrigue, peeling back the facade of institutions and exposing the tender beating hearts of the girls trying to survive." —Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

Incisive and devastatingly insightful, Àbíké-Íyímídé rends a thriller in which every character is hiding painful secrets from themselves and each other, and true to life, justice is a hard-won thing. Where Sleeping Girls Lie paints an honest portrait of the rage of teenage girls and the catharsis found thereafter.” —Joelle Wellington, author of Their Vicious Games

"Where Sleeping Girls Lie seductively blends the irresistible camp of Mean Girls with the propulsive campus whodunnit of Wednesday and the vigilante thrill of Promising Young Woman. Àbíké-Íyímídé is an incisive force—and a total vibe." —Olivie Blake, New York Times bestselling author of The Atlas Six

About the Creators

Where Sleeping Girls Lie

Where Sleeping Girls Lie

Where Sleeping Girls Lie
Where Sleeping Girls Lie
00:00
/
00:00