Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Eventide Sneak Peek

Eventide Sneak Peek

Sarah Goodman

Tor Teen

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Eventide is an evocative YA historical fantasy thriller by debut author Sarah Goodman, for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray. Download a FREE sneak peek today!

MADNESS, SECRETS, AND LIES

Wheeler, Arkansas, 1907

When their father descends into madness after the death of their mother, Verity Pruitt and her little sister Lilah find themselves on an orphan train to rural Arkansas.

In Wheeler, eleven-year-old Lilah is quickly adopted, but seventeen-year-old Verity is not. Desperate to stay close to her sister, Verity indentures herself as a farmhand. But even charming farm boy Abel Atchley can’t completely distract her from the sense that something is not quite right in this little town. Strange local superstitions abound, especially about the eerie old well at the center of the forest. The woods play tricks, unleashing heavy fog and bone-chilling cold…and sometimes visions of things that aren’t there.

But for Verity, perhaps most unsettling of all is the revelation that her own parents have a scandalous history in this very town. And as she tries to unearth the past, sinister secrets come with it—secrets that someone will go to violent lengths to protect….

A haunting tale of long-buried secrets, small-town scandal, and single-minded vengeance by talented debut novelist Sarah Goodman.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Reviews from Goodreads

Sarah Goodman

Sarah Goodman is a former newspaper writer who lives with her husband and three children in a town of 280 people and several thousand cows. Despite growing up on a farm, she remains leery of all barnyard fowl. When she's not writing, Sarah enjoys going for runs with her dogs and drinking not-too-sweet-tea. Eventide is her first novel.

image of Sarah Goodmano
SJ Photography

Sarah Goodman

Tor Teen

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER