Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Couple Found Slain

Couple Found Slain

After a Family Murder

Mikita Brottman

Macmillan Audio

BUY THE BOOK

$19.99

Macmillan Audio

Macmillan Audio

On Sale: 07/06/2021

ISBN: 9781250806970

8:30:0

Critically acclaimed author and psychoanalyst Mikita Brottman offers literary truecrime writing at its best, taking us into the life of a murderer after his conviction—when most stories end but the defendants life goes on.

On February 21, 1992, twenty-two-year-old Brian Bechtold walked into a police station in Port St. Joe, Florida, and confessed that he’d shot and killed his parents in their family home in Silver Spring, Maryland. He said he’d been possessed by the devil. He was eventually diagnosed with schizophrenia and ruled “not criminally responsible” for the murders on grounds of insanity.

But after the trial, where do the “criminally insane” go? Mikita Brottman reveals Brian”s inner life leading up to the murder, as well as his strange afterlife in a maximum-security psychiatric hospital, neither in prison nor free, where he remains incarcerated to this day. Her spare, fluid writing illuminates the underworld of forensic psych wards in America and the motivations and aspirations of those held there, often indefinitely.

Brottman has known Brian for years, and she weaves his story, her own history of depression and hospitalization, and those of other incarcerated people she has worked with into a fascinating, deeply intimate narrative about what it means to be innocent, guilty, or insane. In the tradition of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Couple Found Slain takes us into underworld of forensic psych wards in America and the forgotten lives of those held there, often in… More…

Critically acclaimed author and psychoanalyst Mikita Brottman offers literary truecrime writing at its best, taking us into the life of a murderer after his conviction—when most stories end but the defendants life goes on.

On February 21, 1992, twenty-two-year-old Brian Bechtold walked into a police station in Port St. Joe, Florida, and confessed that he’d shot and killed his parents in their family home in Silver Spring, Maryland. He said he’d been possessed by the devil. He was eventually diagnosed with schizophrenia and ruled “not criminally responsible” for the murders on grounds of insanity.

But after the trial, where do the “criminally insane” go? Mikita Brottman reveals Brian”s inner life leading up to the murder, as well as his strange afterlife in a maximum-security psychiatric hospital, neither in prison nor free, where he remains incarcerated to this day. Her spare, fluid writing illuminates the underworld of forensic psych wards in America and the motivations and aspirations of those held there, often indefinitely.

Brottman has known Brian for years, and she weaves his story, her own history of depression and hospitalization, and those of other incarcerated people she has worked with into a fascinating, deeply intimate narrative about what it means to be innocent, guilty, or insane. In the tradition of One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, Couple Found Slain takes us into underworld of forensic psych wards in America and the forgotten lives of those held there, often indefinitely.

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Less…

Mikita Brottman

Mikita Brottman, PhD, is an Oxford-educated scholar and psychoanalyst and the author of several previous books, including An Unexplained Death, The Great Grisby, and The Maximum Security Book Club. She is a professor of humanities at the Maryland Institute College of Art in Baltimore.

image of Mikita Brottmano
Algerina Perna

Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER