Book details

Macmillan Children's Book

Ghost Book

Author: Remy Lai

Ghost Book

Ghost Book

$14.99

About This Book

From the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky comes a strikingly illustrated, contemporary fantasy graphic novel about a girl who can see ghosts and befriends a boy who is stuck...

Page Count
320
On Sale
07/18/2023
Age Range
8-12

Book Details

From the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky comes a strikingly illustrated, contemporary fantasy graphic novel about a girl who can see ghosts and befriends a boy who is stuck between the worlds of the living and the dead—an instant classic that is perfect for fans of Spirited Away, Coco, and Ghosts.

Twelve years ago, the boy and the girl lived. But one was supposed to die.

July Chen sees ghosts. But her dad insists ghosts aren’t real. So she pretends they don’t exist. Which is incredibly difficult now as it's Hungry Ghost month, when the Gates of the Underworld open and dangerous ghosts run amok in the living world. When July saves a boy ghost from being devoured by a Hungry Ghost, he becomes her first ever friend. Except William is not a ghost. He’s a wandering soul wavering between life and death. As the new friends embark on an adventure to return William to his body, they unearth a ghastly truth—for William to live, July must die.

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this dark yet resoundingly hopeful tale about friendship, sacrifice, and the unseen world of ghosts is a dazzling heir to beloved Studio Ghibli classics.

"Absolutely gorgeous and a completely unique adventure. Remy Lai is a master storyteller!" —Christina Soontornvat, two-time Newbery Honor Winner

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks

ISBN

9781250810434

In The News

"Absolutely gorgeous and a completely unique adventure. Remy Lai is a master storyteller!" —Christina Soontornvat, two-time Newbery Honor Winner


Praise for
Pawcasso

An ALA Best Graphic Novel for Children * Booklist Editors' Choice Winner * NYPL Best Book of the Year * CPL Best Book of the Year * TLA 2022 Little Maverick Pick

"A skillfully woven story of acceptance and forgiveness." —New York Times Book Review

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

* "Brightly colored, inviting artwork." —Booklist, starred review

"Move over, Jeff Kinney . . . Lai’s finger is always precisely on the pulse of kid humor." —Horn Book


Praise for Fly on the Wall

A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, CPL, and SLJl!

“Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn’t a bad thing.” —Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

"Bright, funny storytelling." —The New York Times Book Review

* "Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust." —School Library Journal, starred review


Praise for Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor! A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year! A NYPL Best Book of the Year! An NPR Best Book of the Year! A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!

"
Heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* “Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson.” —Shelf Awareness, starred review

About the Creators

Ghost Book

Ghost Book

$14.99