Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Darkness Knows

The Darkness Knows

Macmillan Audio


Macmillan Audio

Macmillan Audio

On Sale: 07/13/2021

ISBN: 9781250814081


Retired detective Konrad returns to a haunting cold case in The Darkness Knows, first in a captivating new series by Arnaldur Indridason, the "undisputed King of the Icelandic thriller." —The Guardian

When a body is discovered in the icy depths of Langjokull glacier, a cold case from Konrad's past is reopened.

The victim:
a businessman missing for thirty years.

The case:
impossible to solve. Until now.

At the time, an extensive search and police investigation yielded no results—one of the missing man's business associates was briefly held in custody, but there wasn't enough evidence to charge him.

Now the associate is arrested again and Konrad, the retired policeman who originally investigated the disappearance, is called back to reopen the case that has weighed on his mind for decades.

When a woman approaches him with new information that she obtained from her deceased brother, progress can finally be made in solving this long-cold case. But as Konrad starts to look back at the case and secrets of his past, he is forced to come face to face with his own dark side.

A Macmillan Audio production from Minotaur Books

ARNALDUR INDRIÐASON won the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Silence of the Grave and is the only author to win the Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel two years in a row, for Jar City and Silence of the Grave. Strange Shores was nominated for the 2014 CWA Gold Dagger Award.

image of Arnaldur Indridasono

Arnaldur Indridason


Macmillan Audio

Latest on Facebook