Book details

What Beauty There Is

A Novel

Author: Cory Anderson

What Beauty There Is

What Beauty There Is

About This Book

A stunning debut novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive—perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.
Page Count
368
Genre
On Sale
04/19/2022

Book Details

What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive—perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.

To understand the truth, you have to start at the beginning.


Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Living in harsh poverty, Jack Morton is holding his breath. He and his younger brother have nothing—except each other. And now Jack faces a stark choice: lose his brother to foster care or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up on Jack’s trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or speak, and help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.

Imprint Publisher

Square Fish

ISBN

9781250821188

In The News

Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss—and keeps you there until you've read every last word." —Ruta Sepetys, #1 New York Times bestselling author and Carnegie Medal winner of Salt to the Sea

"A ­gorgeous, intense, and shocking look at chaos, survival, fate, and betrayal... A first purchase and a must-read. Prepare to be haunted and chilled to the bone by this exceptional story." —School Library Journal starred review

"Intense, brutal, and searingly honest, Anderson’s debut features intricate plotting and action that hold up against the best thriller novels, yet it is all the more remarkable for its tender, multidimensional characterization and sharp, crystalline prose. Riveting and unforgettable." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Readers who like their novels pitch dark and bone chilling will revel in the horrifying villain and the trio of kids locked into a dilemma they cannot possibly resolve." —The Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books (BCCB), R

"Anderson’s starkly atmospheric thriller illuminates ways in which cycles of poverty and incarceration can disenfranchise children." —Publishers Weekly

About the Creators

What Beauty There Is

What Beauty There Is