Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Tordotcom Publishing 2021 Debut Sampler

Tordotcom Publishing 2021 Debut Sampler

S. Qiouyi Lu, Lee Mandelo, Freya Marske, Aimee Ogden, Zin E. Rocklyn, Andrew Kelly Stewart, Veronica Schanoes

Tordotcom

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Tordotcom Publishing is proud to present a sneak peak of its 2021 debut novel and novella authors.

In the tradition of Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities, debut author S. Qiouyi Lu has written a multifaceted story of borders, power, diaspora, and transformation with In the Watchful City.

Lee Mandelo's debut Summer Sons is a sweltering, queer Southern Gothic that crosses Appalachian street racing with academic intrigue, all haunted by hungry ghost.

Red White & Royal Blue
meets Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell in debut author Freya Marske’s A Marvellous Light, featuring an Edwardian England full of magic, contracts, and conspiracies.

In Aimee Ogden's Sun-Daughters, Sea-Daughters, one woman will travel to the stars and beyond to save her beloved in this lyrical space opera that reimagines The Little Mermaid.

Flowers for the Sea is a dark, dazzling debut novella from Zin E. Rocklyn that reads like Rosemary's Baby by way of Octavia E. Butler

In Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own.

A Canticle for Leibowitz meets The Hunt for Red October in We Shall Sing a Song into the Deep, a lyrical and page-turning coming-of-age exploration of duty, belief, and the post-apocalypse from breakout newcomer Andrew Kelly Stewart.

At the Publisher's reques… More…

Tordotcom Publishing is proud to present a sneak peak of its 2021 debut novel and novella authors.

In the tradition of Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities, debut author S. Qiouyi Lu has written a multifaceted story of borders, power, diaspora, and transformation with In the Watchful City.

Lee Mandelo's debut Summer Sons is a sweltering, queer Southern Gothic that crosses Appalachian street racing with academic intrigue, all haunted by hungry ghost.

Red White & Royal Blue
meets Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell in debut author Freya Marske’s A Marvellous Light, featuring an Edwardian England full of magic, contracts, and conspiracies.

In Aimee Ogden's Sun-Daughters, Sea-Daughters, one woman will travel to the stars and beyond to save her beloved in this lyrical space opera that reimagines The Little Mermaid.

Flowers for the Sea is a dark, dazzling debut novella from Zin E. Rocklyn that reads like Rosemary's Baby by way of Octavia E. Butler

In Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own.

A Canticle for Leibowitz meets The Hunt for Red October in We Shall Sing a Song into the Deep, a lyrical and page-turning coming-of-age exploration of duty, belief, and the post-apocalypse from breakout newcomer Andrew Kelly Stewart.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

S. Qiouyi Lu, Lee Mandelo, Freya Marske, Aimee Ogden, Zin E. Rocklyn, Andrew Kelly Stewart, Veronica Schanoes

S. Qiouyi Lu writes and translates between two coasts of the Pacific. Ær work, including fiction, poetry, and essays, has appeared in several award-winning venues.

LEE MANDELO is a writer, critic, and occasional editor whose fields of interest include speculative and queer fiction, especially when the two coincide. They have been a past nominee for various awards including the Nebula, Lambda, and Hugo; their work can be found in magazines such as Tor.com, Uncanny Magazine, Clarkesworld, and Nightmare. Aside from a brief stint overseas learning to speak Scouse, Lee has spent their life ranging across Kentucky, currently living in Lexington and pursuing a PhD at the University of Kentucky.

Freya Marske (she/her) is one of the co-hosts of Be the Serpent, a Hugo-nominated podcast about SF, fandom and literary tropes, and her work has sold to Analog and been shortlisted for Best Fantasy Short Story in the Aurealis Awards. She lives in Australia.

Aimee Ogden is an exciting emerging author with more than two dozen short story publications in venues such as Analog, Shimmer, Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show, and The Dark. Aimee is a former science teacher and software tester; she now writes stories about sad astronauts, angry princesses, and dead gods. She’s also the co-editor of Translunar Travelers Lounge, a new speculative fiction magazine devoted to fun, optimistic stories. She lives in Madison.

Zin E. Rocklyn (they/them) is a contributor to Bram Stoker-nominated Nox Pareidolia, Kaiju Rising II: Reign of Monsters, Brigands: A Blackguards Anthology, and Forever Vacancy anthologies and Weird Luck Tales No. 7 zine. Their story “Summer Skin” in the Bram Stoker-nominated anthology Sycorax’s Daughters received an honorable mention for Ellen Datlow’s Best Horror of the Year, Volume Ten. Zin contributed the nonfiction essay “My Genre Makes a Monster of Me” to Uncanny Magazine’s Hugo Award-winning Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction. Their short story “Night Sun” was published on Tor.com. Zin is a 2017 VONA and 2018 Viable Paradise graduate as well as a 2021 Clarion West candidate.

Veronica Schanoes is an American author of fantasy stories and an associate professor in the department of English at Queens College, CUNY. Her novella Burning Girls was nominated for the Nebula Award and the World Fantasy Award and won the Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novella in 2013. She lives in New York City. Burning Girls and Other Stories is her debut collection.

ANDREW KELLY STEWART's (he/him) writing spans the literary, science fiction, fantasy, and the supernatural genres. His short fiction has appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction and ZYZZYVA. He is a Clarion Workshop alum and holds an MFA in Creative Writing. This is his first publication with Tor.com. Stewart lives and writes in southern California.

image of S. Qiouyi Luo
courtesy of the author

S. Qiouyi Lu

image of Lee Mandeloo
Sarah Jane Webb

Tor.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Tordotcom

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER