Book details

White Horse

A Novel

Author: Erika T. Wurth

White Horse

White Horse

About This Book

For fans of Mexican Gothic and The Shining, White Horse is a gritty, vibrant debut from Erika T. Wurth about an Urban Native woman who must face her past when she discovers a bracelet haunted by her mother’s spirit.
Page Count
320
Genre
On Sale
11/01/2022

Book Details

"This ghost story is a perfect example of new wave horror that will also satisfy fans of classic Stephen King." —Silvia Moreno-Garcia, author of The Daughter of Doctor Moreau and Mexican Gothic

Erika T. Wurth's White Horse is a gritty, vibrant debut novel about an Indigenous woman who must face her past when she discovers a bracelet haunted by her mother’s spirit.


Some people are haunted in more ways than one…

Kari James, Urban Native, is a fan of heavy metal, ripped jeans, Stephen King novels, and dive bars. She spends most of her time at her favorite spot in Denver, a bar called White Horse. There, she tries her best to ignore her past and the questions surrounding her mother who abandoned her when she was just two years old.

But soon after her cousin Debby brings her a traditional bracelet that once belonged to Kari’s mother, Kari starts seeing disturbing visions of her mother and a mysterious creature. When the visions refuse to go away, Kari must uncover what really happened to her mother all those years ago. Her father, permanently disabled from a car crash, can’t help her. Her Auntie Squeaker seems to know something but isn’t eager to give it all up at once. Debby’s anxious to help, but her controlling husband keeps getting in the way.

Kari’s journey toward a truth long denied by both her family and law enforcement forces her to confront her dysfunctional relationships, thoughts about a friend she lost in childhood, and her desire for the one thing she’s always wanted but could never have…

Imprint Publisher

Flatiron Books

ISBN

9781250847652

In The News

"Gritty, haunting, understated, and beautiful." —CrimeReads

"Wurth. . . draws on her own upbringing to bring a raw realism to her depictions of urban Indigenous life in the West. You won't find anything else like it this fall." Seattle Times

“It’s metal to the end, it’s Denver to the core, it’s Native without trying, there’s ghosts, there’s blood, there’s roller coasters, and there’s about a thousand cigarettes smoked. What else can you ask for in a novel?” —Stephen Graham Jones, author of The Only Good Indians

"This ghost story is a perfect example of new wave horror that will also satisfy fans of classic Stephen King." —Silvia Moreno-Garcia, author of The Daughter of Doctor Moreau and Mexican Gothic

"An unapologetic world of dive bars, dark secrets, and true life horrors. I became completely enthralled. . . . Wurth [is] an exciting new voice in literary horror." —Rebecca Roanhorse, New York Times bestselling author of Black Sun

"Family ties are made from rusty barbed wire in White Horse, a book that feels as welcome as a dark bar on a hot afternoon, and whose story burns like a shot of rotgut whiskey." —Grady Hendrix, bestselling author of The Final Girl Support Group

About the Creators

White Horse

White Horse