Book details

Promise Boys

Author: Nick Brooks

Promise Boys

Promise Boys

About This Book

The Hate U Give meets One of Us Is Lying in Nick Brooks's Promise Boys, a trailblazing, blockbuster mystery about three teen boys of color who must investigate...

Page Count
304
Genre
On Sale
01/31/2023
Age Range
14-18

Book Details

The Hate U Give meets One of Us Is Lying in Nick Brooks's Promise Boys, a trailblazing, blockbuster mystery about three teen boys of color who must investigate their principal’s murder to clear their own names—for fans of Jason Reynolds, Angie Thomas, and Karen McManus.

"A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery with bruised hearts at its core." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp. Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

The Urban Promise Prep School vows to turn boys into men. As students, J.B., Ramón, and Trey are forced to follow the prestigious "program's" strict rules. Extreme discipline, they’ve been told, is what it takes to be college bound, to avoid the fates of many men in their neighborhoods. This, the Principal Moore Method, supposedly saves lives.

But when Moore ends up murdered and the cops come sniffing around, the trio emerges as the case's prime suspects. With all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. But is the true culprit hiding among them?

Imprint Publisher

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)

ISBN

9781250866974

In The News

An Amazon Best Book of the Month
An Indigo Staff Pick of the Month

"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp. Promise Boys will stay with you long after the last page." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"The path to manhood has never felt more ominous than it does in PROMISE BOYS. I was at the edge of my seat trying to figure out if I was reading a story about boys becoming men or boys becoming killers—you will be too. A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery with bruised hearts at its core." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

"There's nothing like a book that manages to flawlessly thread subtle social commentary through a propulsive plot carried by complex characters. I can't wait to see this expertly crafted mystery take the world over." —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin

“Nothing short of astounding. A spellbinding, propulsive mystery while simultaneously presenting a searing critique of structural injustice. I recommend it to anyone who loves books or doesn’t.” —Jeff Zentner, award-winning author of The Serpent King and In the Wild Light

"An edge-of-your-seats, street-smart, exploding-with-talent novel.” —Francisco X. Stork, author of On the Hook

*
"A top-notch page-turner and deep character study . . . will grip readers, who won’t want to stop reading." —Booklist, starred review

* "Breathtakingly complex and intriguing." —Kirkus, starred review

* "
Brooks excels in creating protagonists worthy of applause and truly foul villains, whose presences linger long after this atmospheric read ends." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Heartbreaking and riveting in equal measure." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Builds to an exhilarating crescendo." —Horn Book

About the Creators

Promise Boys

Promise Boys