Book details

Death of a Master Chef

A Brittany Mystery

Brittany Mystery Series (Volume 9)

Author: Jean-Luc Bannalec

Death of a Master Chef

Death of a Master Chef

$28.00

About This Book

Jean-Luc Bannalec's internationally bestselling series starring Commissaire Georges Dupin returns with Death of a Master Chef.
Page Count
336
Genre
On Sale
04/30/2024

Book Details

Jean-Luc Bannalec's internationally bestselling series starring Commissaire Georges Dupin returns with Death of a Master Chef.

Commissaire Georges Dupin is certain these first beautiful summer days in June would be perfect for a fun trip to Saint-Malo. In a region known as the culinary heart of Brittany, the paradoxical city is known for being a uniquely Breton, yet un-Breton, place. Their cuisine’s moto is voyages et aventures. Travel and adventure. Dupin would love to explore the internationally renowned cuisine one bite at a time. But to his chagrin, Dupin is there instead to attend a police seminar dedicated to closer collaboration between the Breton départements.

To prepare himself for what’s to come while in Saint-Malo, Dupin wanders through the halls of a local market—stopping to sample its wares as he goes—while admiring its aromatic orchestra. But Dupin’s morning is derailed when there’s a murder at a nearby stall. He quickly realizes this case is unlike any he’s worked on before. The police know the victim: Blanche Trouin, a grand chef of the region. They know the perpetrator: Lucille Trouin, Blanche’s sister and fellow successful chef in the area. The two had a well-known and public feud. After a bit of searching, Lucille is even in custody. The only thing they’re missing is the motive. And Lucille refuses to talk.

Saint-Malo doesn’t want any help from the visiting commissaires. Even Dupin’s assistant, Nolwenn, is telling him to stay out of it. But Dupin, along with a few of his Breton colleagues, can’t help but begin an investigation into why a chef killed her sister in the middle of a crowded market.

Imprint Publisher

Minotaur Books

ISBN

9781250893055

In The News

Praise for Death of a Master Chef

“Fans of Louise Penny’s Chief Inspector Gamache novels should revel in [this book]… A feast.” –Booklist (starred review)

“Bannalec delivers on all counts.” –BookPage (starred review)

“An intriguing and tasty mystery with surprising twists in a beautiful, charming setting that will appeal to Louise Penny fans.” –First Clue

Praise for the Commissaire Georges Dupin Series

"Delicious Brittany mysteries... If this isn't heaven, it's close enough." —The New York Times

“[Bannalec] lets his love and knowledge of Brittany shine through in his books.” —The Washington Post

“Perfect for fans of Louise Penny or Mark Pryor.” —Shelf Awareness

About the Creators

Death of a Master Chef

Death of a Master Chef

$28.00