Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Defense

The Defense

A Novel

Eddie Flynn (Volume 1)

Steve Cavanagh; read by Adam Sims

Macmillan Audio

BUY THE BOOK

$26.99

Macmillan Audio

Macmillan Audio

On Sale: 05/03/2016

ISBN: 9781427272737

10:56:0

"If you're a fan of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Brad Meltzer, then you will be a fan of Steve Cavanagh's The Defense." Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Radiant Angel

Eddie Flynn used to be a con artist. Then he became a lawyer. Turns out the two aren't that different.

In The Defense, former con artist turned lawyer Eddie Flynn gave up the law a year ago after a disastrous case, and he vowed never to step foot in a courtroom again. But now he doesn't have a choice. The head of the Russian mob in New York City, on trial for murder, has kidnapped Eddie's ten-year-old daughter: Eddie has to take this case whether he likes it or not.

Using his razor-sharp wit and every con, bluff, grift, and trick in the book, Eddie has only forty-eight hours to defend an impossible murder trial. And if he loses this case, he loses everything.


CHAPTER ONE


 


I’d grown sloppy. That’s what happens when you go straight.


“Do exactly as I tell you or I’ll put a bullet in your spine.”


The accent...

Praise for The Defense

“This audiobook goes from zero to ninety out of the box and doesn't flag until The End, so fasten your seat belt...Adam Sims gives a bravura performance so at one with the text that you hardly notice he's there beside you on the edge of your seat.”--AudioFile.com

“This debut is in the vein of Grisham, Turow, and Margolin, [Cavanagh] has created a fascinating character and is skilled in describing the chess moves that go on during the trial. Narrator Adam Sims does a superb job of keeping the story flowing.”--Library Journal

Steve Cavanagh; read by Adam Sims

STEVE CAVANAGH was born and raised in Belfast before studying law in Dublin. He practices civil rights law and has been involved in several high profile cases; in 2010 Steve represented a factory worker who won the largest award of damages for race discrimination in Northern Ireland's legal history. Steve is married with two young children. The Defense is his first novel.

image of Steve Cavanagho
Donna-Lisa Healy

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Macmillan Audio

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER