Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Legacy

The Legacy

A Thriller

Children's House (Volume 1)

Yrsa Sigurdardottir; read by Lucy Paterson

Macmillan Audio

BUY THE BOOK

$26.99

Macmillan Audio

Macmillan Audio

On Sale: 02/13/2018

ISBN: 9781427294401

13:40:0

From Icelandic author Yrsa Sigurdardottir comes a thrilling and unique audiobook series

The Legacy is the first installment in a stunning new audiobook series from the author of The Silence of the Sea, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.

The only person who might have the answers to a baffling murder case is the victim’s seven-year-old daughter, found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she’s not talking.

The Legacy is the first installment in a fantastic new series featuring the psychologist Freyja and the police officer Huldar.

Newly-promoted, out of his depth, detective Huldar turns to Freyja for her expertise with traumatized young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn’t best pleased. But she’s determined to keep little Margret safe.

It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He’s telling a dark and secret story—but can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?

Chapter 1


Thursday

It takes Elísa a moment or two to work out where she is. She’s lying on her side, the duvet tangled between her legs, the pillow creased under her cheek. It’s dark in the room but through the gap...

Praise for The Legacy

"Narrator Lucy Paterson's slightly husky and sometimes dispassionate voice weaves an atmosphere of Icelandic chill. The murders are shocking, and the lack of graphic description adds to that chill. Prepare to spend hours with nerves jangling. ...This is the start of a new series featuring Freyja, and one hopes Paterson will narrate as well." -AudioFile

Praise for The Legacy:

"[A] relentlessly paced series launch...Few readers will be able to put down this powerful tale of revenge."—Publishers Weekly (starred)

"A complex, character-driven procedural, powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Lackberg."—Booklist (starred)

"Brilliant . . . her best novel to date"—The Globe and Mail on The Legacy

"The Legacy is the start of an exciting new direction for Yrsa Sigurdardottir. The horror of a decades-old family separation provides the catalyst for dark crimes and a complex investigation."—Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

"We have always been able to rely on Yrsa Sigurdardóttir for a good story well told, and DNA is no exception. A strong sense of place, interesting characters and a chilling plot make The Legacy a novel to savor."—Peter Robinson

"If you like your crime fiction dark and engaging, look no further. A cracking start to a new series by Yrsa Sigurdardottir."—Mari Hannah on The Legacy

"Yrsa remains the queen of Icelandic thriller writers."—Guardian on The Legacy

Praise for Yrsa Sigur… More…

"Narrator Lucy Paterson's slightly husky and sometimes dispassionate voice weaves an atmosphere of Icelandic chill. The murders are shocking, and the lack of graphic description adds to that chill. Prepare to spend hours with nerves jangling. ...This is the start of a new series featuring Freyja, and one hopes Paterson will narrate as well." -AudioFile

Praise for The Legacy:

"[A] relentlessly paced series launch...Few readers will be able to put down this powerful tale of revenge."—Publishers Weekly (starred)

"A complex, character-driven procedural, powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Lackberg."—Booklist (starred)

"Brilliant . . . her best novel to date"—The Globe and Mail on The Legacy

"The Legacy is the start of an exciting new direction for Yrsa Sigurdardottir. The horror of a decades-old family separation provides the catalyst for dark crimes and a complex investigation."—Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

"We have always been able to rely on Yrsa Sigurdardóttir for a good story well told, and DNA is no exception. A strong sense of place, interesting characters and a chilling plot make The Legacy a novel to savor."—Peter Robinson

"If you like your crime fiction dark and engaging, look no further. A cracking start to a new series by Yrsa Sigurdardottir."—Mari Hannah on The Legacy

"Yrsa remains the queen of Icelandic thriller writers."—Guardian on The Legacy

Praise for Yrsa Sigurdardottir:

"Iceland's outstanding crime novelist."—Daily Express

"I can see why so many people are enthusiastic about Yrsa's work. It's very engaging, fresh and exciting."—James Patterson

- Less…

Reviews from Goodreads

Yrsa Sigurdardottir; read by Lucy Paterson

YRSA SIGURDARDÓTTIR (pronounced UR-suh SIG-ur-dar-daughter) lives with her family in Reykjavík. She is a director of one of Iceland’s largest engineering firms. Her work is climbing bestseller lists all over the world, and films are currently in production for several of her books.

Yrsa is the author of the Thora Gudmundsdottir novels, including The Silence of the Sea and Someone to Watch Over Me.

image of Yrsa Sigurdardottiro
Sigurjon Ragnar

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    Macmillan Audio

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER