Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
They're Watching

They're Watching

A Novel

Gregg Hurwitz

St. Martin's Press

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

"Riveting, emotionally rich, original, and beautifully written, this book kept me up too late reading, had me sneaking in pages the next day. They're Watching reminded me what it's like to be in the thrall of a great story: helpless until the end, loving every minute of it."—Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Die for You

Patrick Davis is a man with troubles. First his Hollywood dreams crumble and then his storybook marriage hits a snag. Now, DVDs start being delivered to his house—DVDs which show that someone is watching him and his wife, that the two of them are being stalked and recorded by cameras hidden in their house. Then the e-mails start, and someone offers to fix everything, to take the mess his life has become and make it all right. Patrick figures it's the offer of a lifetime.
But Patrick couldn't be more wrong. With every step he falls deeper into a web of intrigue that threatens everything he values in this world. Before he knows it, he's in and in deep—and his only escape is to outwit and outplay his unseen opponents at their own game.

EXCERPT

THEY'RE WATCHING
In my boxers I stepped out onto the cold flagstones of my porch to retrieve the morning paper, which had landed, inevitably, in the puddle by the broken sprinkler. The apartments across the street, Bel Air in zip code only, reflected...

Reviews

Praise for They're Watching

“Riveting, emotionally rich, original, and beautifully written, this book kept me up too late reading, had me sneaking in pages the next day. They're Watching reminded me what it's like to be in the thrall of a great story: helpless until the end, loving every minute of it.” —Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Die for You

“Rousing...intriguing...one shocking surprise after another...Always a master of the gripping setup, Hurwitz outdoes himself in this ultra-suspenseful thriller.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Buckle up and get ready for a wild ride! From the anxiety-inducing first page to the nerve-wracking last, They're Watching will keep you riveted as one man fights for his family, his career and his very life.” —Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of Live to Tell

“A strong Hitchcock vibe... Hurwitz has the smarts and the writing chops to earn his suspense in a way that lesser writers simply can't....[he] has firmly established himself as one of the top writers in the suspense genre. He can be counted on to consistently deliver enough thrills to satisfy even the most demanding readers.” —Chicago Sun-Times

“Invasion of privacy reaches sinister new levels in thriller maestro Hurwitz's latest....With cinematic pacing and strong echoes of countless other twisty suspenses, this one is a natural for the big screen.” —People

“Turns with equal skill and mastery down the nightmarish road paved by Harlan Coben...Hurwitz's grasp of Hollywood noir is firm and his command of his story makes They're Watching riveting in all respects.” —Providence Journal-Bulletin

“[A] labyrinthine thriller...full of twists and turns and unexpected revelations. Hurwitz frequently sets us up to expect one thing but delivers something entirely different. He keeps us constantly on our toes, and--this is especially good--he keeps us guessing right until the very last pages about exactly who has targeted Patrick and why. Highly recommended, especially for fans of Dean Koontz, Linwood Barclay, and Harlan Coben.” —Booklist (starred review)

“You'll be gripped by this terrific read from page one.” —The Sun

They're Watching is a thrilling novel, dripping with mystery, suspense, violence, and even a little romance. It contains all the ingredients for a bestseller.” —New York Journal of Books

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Gregg Hurwitz

Gregg Hurwitz is the author of a number of critically acclaimed thrillers, including Trust No One, The Crime Writer and Troubleshooting. International bestsellers, his novels have been finalists for several awards, including the Crime Writers of America Ian Fleming Steel Dagger and the ITW Best Novel of the Year awards. In addition to his novels, he has also written comic books and screenplays, developed television series for Warner Brothers and Lakeshore, published scholarly articles on Shakespeare, and is currently a consulting producer on ABC's "V." He has taught fiction at the University of Southern California and guest lectured for UCLA and Harvard. Hurwitz grew up in the Bay Area and earned his B.A. from Harvard and a master's from Trinity College at Oxford. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Gregg Hurwitz

Gary Fleder

Gregg Hurwitz

Macmillan Speakers ?

X

Macmillan Speakers Bureau

Represents thought-provoking authors and experts. We can find a speaker uniquely positioned for your audience and budget.

More info

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    St. Martin's Press

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER