Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Packaging Girlhood

Packaging Girlhood

Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes

Sharon Lamb, Ed.D., and Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D.

St. Martin's Press

BUY THE BOOK

The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action.

Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world.

In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.

Chapter One

Pretty in Pink: What Girls Wear

Girl or boy?" is almost always the first question people ask when they hear about the birth of a baby. They don't need to ask, however, when they see a newborn in her carriage on the...

Praise for Packaging Girlhood

“...a must-read for parents and teachers who want to steer girls away from marketing schemes that distort female power and authority and toward true self-acceptance and authentic empowerment.” —Polly Young Eisendrath, author of Women and Desire and The Resilient Spirit

“Sharon Lamb and Lyn Mikel Brown have that rare gift of translating cutting-edge research and analysis into strategies and information that every parent (and every girl) can use in daily life.” —Joe Kelly, president of Dads and Daughters (DADs)

“With compassion, insight, and humor [Lamb and Brown] unravel and demystify the messages girls confront throughout their development, and they offer adults useful tools to help girls resist their powerful pull.” —Lynn M. Phillips, Ph.D., Department of Communications, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

-

Reviews from Goodreads

Sharon Lamb, Ed.D., and Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D.

Sharon Lamb, Ed.D., author of The Secret Lives of Girls, is professor of Psychology at Saint Michael's College in Vermont. She not only has done research on girls and teens but has listened to their struggles in her private practice.

Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D., professor of Education at Colby College in Maine, is co-author, with Carol Gilligan, of Meeting at the Crossroads: Women's Psychology and Girls' Development. She works with girls at her nonprofit organization, Hardy Girls Healthy Women (www.hardygirlshealthywomen.org).

Sharon Lamb Ed.D.

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER