Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Ranger's Law

Ranger's Law

A Lone Star Saga

Texas Rangers

Elmer Kelton

Forge Books


Written by the most honored Western writer of all time, Ranger's Law presents three novels from Elmer Kelton's acclaimed saga of the formative years of the Texas Rangers.
In Ranger's Trail, set in the decade following the Civil War, young David "Rusty" Shannon hopes to join the "ranging companies" being formed to curb depredations by Indian bands and renegade outlaws. Waiting will give him time to find and kill the man who murdered his fiancée - but the trail Rusty is following may lead to the wrong man.
Texas Vendetta pairs Rusty Shannon, now a Ranger private, with Farley Brackett, a Civil War veteran, to deliver a prisoner, Jayce Landon, to a sheriff of a distant county. The mission won't be easy. Landon killed a member of a rival clan and Rusty and his partner are riding into the middle of a blood feud.
In Jericho's Road, Ranger Andy Pickard, who as a child was taken captive by the Comanche and called 'Badger Boy,' is assigned to ride patrol on the Texas-Mexico border and finds his few miles along the Rio Grande in the center of a range war.
Two of the most recognizable Texas symbols – the Rangers and Elmer Kelton – come together in these unforgettable adventures in Ranger's Law.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Dedicated to Nat Sobel, agent, friend, and a good judge of a story

The election had gone smoothly except for certain extralegal shenanigans perpetrated...

Praise for Ranger's Law

“Kelton is a master storyteller who offers more than just blood and gunsmoke. The right blend of action, drama, romance, humor and suspense makes this a handsome addition to his ongoing saga of the Old West.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Ranger's Trail

“Kelton creates a story rich in historical context, character development and action.” —The Houston Chronicle on Texas Vendetta

“Storytelling as ripe as a bank ripe for robbing. Its quietly knifelike sentences will skin you alive.” —Kirkus Reviews on Texas Vendetta

“As always, Mr. Kelton's history is accurate and his characters clearly drawn and believable.” —The Dallas Morning News on Jericho's Road

“Kelton's masterful use of words, his creative talent for weaving together an intriguing plot full of suspense, romance, and humor, and his use of descriptive detail that affords the reader an opportunity to actually live a piece of Texas history all combine to make each of his novels a unique experience. Jericho's Road is no exception.” —Texas Review of Books


Reviews from Goodreads

Elmer Kelton

Elmer Kelton, author of more than forty novels, grew up on a ranch near Crane, Texas, and earned a journalism degree from the University of Texas. His first novel, Hot Iron, was published in 1956. For forty-two years he had a parallel career in agricultural journalism.

Among his awards have been seven Spurs from Western Writers of America and four Western Heritage awards from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame. Among his best-known works have been The Time It Never Rained and The Good Old Boys, the latter made into a television film starring Tommy Lee Jones.

He served in the infantry in World War II. He and his wife, Ann, a native of Austria, live in San Angelo, Texas. They have three children, four grandchildren and five great-grandchildren.

image of Elmer Keltono
Jim Bean Professional Photography

Forge Books

Latest on Facebook