Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Eagle

The Eagle

The Roman Britain Trilogy (Volume 1)

Rosemary Sutcliff

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)


In a.d. 125, a young Roman centurion must recover the infamous Ninth Legion's missing symbol of honor, the eagle standard.

Carnegie Medal, American Library Association Notable Children's Books, ALA Notable Children's Books


Frontier Fort

From the Fosseway westward to Isca Dumnoniorum the road was simply a British trackway, broadened and roughly metalled, strengthened by corduroys of logs in the softest places, but otherwise unchanged from its old estate,...

Praise for The Eagle

“An unusual blend of stirring action and poetic symbolism. Authentic in background, skillful in plot, and perceptive in characterization.” —Booklist

Reviews from Goodreads

Rosemary Sutcliff

ROSEMARY SUTCLIFF is the author of 50 historical novels for children. The third book in the Roman Britain trilogy, The Lantern Bearers, won the Carnegie Medal in 1959, and Tristan and Iseult was a runner up in 1972. She also won the first Phoenix Award in 1985 for The Mark of the Horse Lord and the most recent in 2010 for The Shining Company. Rosemary Sutcliff received an OBE (Officer of the British Empire) for services to Children's Literature in 1975 and in 1993, the year after her death, was promoted to CBE (Commander of the British Empire).

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)

Latest on Facebook