Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
The Devil's Odds

The Devil's Odds

A Mystery

Milton T. Burton

Minotaur Books

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

A rip-roaring mystery set in 1940s Texas, featuring a Texas Ranger and the New Orleans Mafia.

December, 1942. Texas Ranger Virgil Tucker receives a plea for protection from Madeline Kimbell, a terrified young woman who witnessed a crime. Keeping Madeline safe from the men who want to hurt her turns out to be harder than he imagined. When a prominent attorney is murdered, Virgil is drawn into the dangerous world of the New Orleans Mafia as the top mob bosses try to take over alveston's gambling empire. Chockfull of Southern charm, this book is perfect for fans of historical
mysteries and for anyone who loves Texas.

EXCERPT

CHAPTER ONE


It was a little after six in the evening when I spotted the girl I was supposed to meet. It was December 10, 1942, and she was sitting alone in the Longhorn Barroom of the Weilbach hotel in San Gabriel, Texas. She was...

Reviews

Praise for The Devil's Odds

“A lively and well-crafted plot...It made me glad to return to East Texas.” —Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post, on Nights of the Red Moon

“Burton's rip-snorting third mystery will appeal to fans of Bill Crider, Ben Rehder, and Kinky Friedman.” —Publishers Weekly (starred) on Nights of the Red Moon

“Burton takes a sure hand to the small-town politics, paperwork hassles and easy authority of an East Texas lawman's life.” —Houston Chronicle on Nights of the Red Moon

“An outstanding example of Texas noir.” —Gumshoe Review on Nights of the Red Moon

“A tasty slice of local pie.” —The Austin American-Statesman on Nights of the Red Moon

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Milton T. Burton

MILTON T. BURTON was born in Jacksonville, Texas, and is a lifelong resident of the area. He has been variously a cattleman, a political consultant, and a college history teacher. He lives in Tyler, Texas.

Milton T. Burton

Steve Fisch

Milton T. Burton

Community

Criminalelement.com

    MORE BLOG POSTS →

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER

    From the Publisher

    Minotaur Books

    Latest on Facebook

    LATEST ON TWITTER