Skip to main content
Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Stephen Coonts' Deep Black Dark Zone

Stephen Coonts' Deep Black Dark Zone

Deep Black (Volume 3)

Stephen Coonts and Jim DeFelice

St. Martin's Paperbacks



In a secluded headquarters on the other side of the globe a terrorist mission is underway-a plan to set-off an underwater explosion so great, and with such hellish force, that it could shift the very foundation of the earth's surface causing untold calamity and world-wide disaster. The terrorists call it God's Revenge.

A nuclear warhead has gone missing. Small in size, it packs up to ten times the kilotons that exploded over Hiroshima. It's now in the wrong hands, ready to detonate a world war of unfathomable proportions.

In the top secret headquarters of the National Security Agency, a small cadre of special agents form Deep Black, designed to bring a techno edge to covert operations and eliminate the cyber threats to world peace. This is Charlie Dean's world-an NSA ex-marine sniper now enlisted to stop the unthinkable. But when his suspicions of a traitor in his shadow become frighteningly true, Dean's race against time could mean the end of the free world.

Stephen Coonts' Deep Black Dark Zone, cowritten with Jim DeFelice, is the third book in this technothriller series.

Stephen Coonts' Deep Black: Dark Zone

Charles Dean saw her first.
The beauty of her face sliced past his jet lag, shocking his eyes and reaching whatever primal instinct it is that makes a man react immediately to beauty....

Praise for Stephen Coonts' Deep Black Dark Zone

“The Master Of The Techno Thriller.” —Publishers Weekly

“Move Over Clancy...Readers know they can count on Coonts.” —Midwest Book Review

“[Coonts] is a natural storyteller [with] a rare gift.” —USA Today

“Coonts delivers some of his best gung-ho suspense writing yet.” —Kirkus Reviews


Reviews from Goodreads

Stephen Coonts and Jim DeFelice

Stephen Coonts is the author of the bestselling Deep Black, Jake Grafton, Tommy Carmellini, and Saucers series, among many others. His first novel, Flight of the Intruder, spent over six months on The New York Times bestseller list. In 1986, the U.S. Naval Institute honored him with its Author of the Year Award. Coonts served eight years in the Navy, including two cruises on the USS Enterprise during the last years of the Vietnam War.

Best known for American Sniper, Jim DeFelice is the author of over a dozen New York Times bestsellers and a host of other books. His standalone novels include Leopard’s Kill and The Helios Conspiracy, and he has collaborated with other bestselling authors including Richard Marcinko and Larry Bond.

image of Stephen Coontso
Deborah Coonts


    Latest on Facebook


    St. Martin's Paperbacks

    Latest on Facebook