Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group
Prayers for Sale

Prayers for Sale

A Novel

Sandra Dallas

St. Martin's Press

READ AN EXCERPT →

BUY THE BOOK

e-Book

Hennie Comfort is eighty-six and has lived in the mountains of Middle Swan, Colorado since before it was Colorado. Nit Spindle is just seventeen and newly married. She and her husband have just moved to the high country in search of work. It's 1936 and the depression has ravaged the country and Nit and her husband have suffered greatly. Hennie notices the young woman loitering near the old sign outside of her house that promises "Prayers For Sale". Hennie doesn't sell prayers, never has, but there's something about the young woman that she's drawn to. The harsh conditions of life that each have endured create an instant bond and an unlikely friendship is formed, one in which the deepest of hardships are shared and the darkest of secrets are confessed.
Sandra Dallas has created an unforgettable tale of a friendship between two women, one with surprising twists and turns, and one that is ultimately a revelation of the finest parts of the human spirit.

WILLA Literary Award - Finalist

MEDIA

Watch

Prayers for Sale by Sandra Dallas--Audiobook Excerpt

Listen to this audiobook excerpt from Sandra Dallas' historical novel Prayers for Sale. From the critically acclaimed author of Tallgrass comes a powerful novel about an unlikely friendship between two women and the secrets they've kept in order to survive life in a rugged Colorado mining town.

Reviews

Praise for Prayers for Sale

“Fans of Lee Smith, Sue Monk Kidd, and Kaye Gibbons will love this book.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Dallas is an amazing storyteller with a knack for historical fiction. Her writing is fresh and current even though she writes about the past. Her characters linger in the mind long after the story is finished.” —The Denver Post

Reviews from Goodreads

About the author

Sandra Dallas

Award-winning author Sandra Dallas was dubbed "a quintessential American voice" by Jane Smiley, in Vogue Magazine. She is the author of The Bride's House, Whiter Than Snow, and Tallgrass, among others. Her novels have been translated into a dozen languages and optioned for films. She is the recipient of the Women Writing the West Willa Award and the two-time winner of the Western Writers of America Spur Award. For 25 years, Dallas worked as a reporter covering the Rocky Mountain region for Business Week, and started writing fiction in 1990. She lives with her husband in Denver, Colorado.

Sandra Dallas

Povy Kendal Archinson

From the Publisher

St. Martin's Press

Latest on Facebook

LATEST ON TWITTER